Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Harvey Beutner Award for Journalistic Excellence

Presented in honor of Dr. Harvey Beutner, who advised campus media for a quarter century and was the recipient of the university's highest teaching award. This is a Gamma Upsilon award, and only Gamma Upsilon members and new initiates are eligible. There is no application process. Winners are chosen on the basis of nomination by campus media heads, advisers, and Gamma Upsilon officers. One year of media service plus a GPA of 3.0 is required. Previous winners:

2018—Erich Lieser

2017—Matt Wegh

2016—Adriana Erickson

2015—Anna Lowenthal

2014—Jeff Neukom

2013—Michael Kistner

2012—Patrick Cavanaugh

2011—Nicole Travis

2010—Ashley Jaconetti

2009—Michael Gorman

2008—Paul Morello

2007—Daniel Armstrong

2006—Sarah Zeller

2005—Emma Wear

2004—Sarah Hedgespeth

2003—Brian Caster

2002—Patrick F. Busch

2001—Kathryn L. Weber

2000—Patrick A. Hawn

1999—Brian E. Mertz

1998—Michael G. Balsley

1997—Krystina Lane

1996—David Brown

1995—Jesse T. Boyle

1994—Christopher J. Fusco

1993—Jennifer L. Barrell

1992—Darlene D. Ostrowski

1991—John L. Snyder

1990—Robert C. Warth, Jr.

1989—Kristin L. Frazier

Michael Theune - Robert Harrington Endowed Professor of English and Chair of English

Department - English