Tributaries Deadline
11:59pm February 14,, 2016

Tributaries, IWU's creative arts journal, is now accepting submissions for the spring issue! This is a great way to share your creativity with the campus community. The deadline for submissions is  11:59pm  on  February 14th

You may submit up to five pieces of poetry, prose/fiction, art, and/or photography. 
- Fiction pieces must not exceed ten pages double spaced.
- We no longer accept pieces that are formatted into multiple columns, so please format your work accordingly.
- Don't forget to title your work.

Send your submissions to with "Submission" in the subject line. Don't hesitate to contact us with any questions.
We look forward to seeing your work!
- Tribs Editors   

Contests announced for IWU student poets and writers FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Deadline: Monday, February 29, 2016

Contact: Alison Sainsbury, 556-3165

Contests announced for IWU student poets and writers 

Illinois Wesleyan University students are invited to enter annual competitions for the Academy of American Poets University & College Prize, the Illinois Wesleyan University Department of English Prize for Short Fiction, and the Kay Nelson Memorial Essay Prize. The prizes, administered by the English department, are open to all currently enrolled students, including non-English majors and minors.

Founded in 1955, the Academy of American Poets University & College Poetry Prize program has launched the careers of many promising poets, including Sylvia Plath, Tess Gallagher, Mark Strand, and Joy Harjo. The winner from Illinois Wesleyan University receives $100 and a certificate, and is announced in the Academy of American Poets' publications and news releases, with a chance for publication in a future anthology.

To enter the Academy of American Poets' Prize, students should submit 4-6 poems, single-spaced, with the total length not to exceed 12 pages.

The Illinois Wesleyan University Department of English Prize for Short Fiction (formerly the Clockwatch Review Prize for Short Fiction and the Babbitt’s Prize for Short Fiction) began in 1997 as a way to promote and encourage aspiring fiction writers at IWU. The winner receives $100.

To enter the IWU Department of English Prize for Short Fiction, students should submit up to 18 double-spaced pages of fiction—either a single short story or a segment from a novel that can stand alone. Any style is acceptable—even genre, if it breaks the mold—but judges will be looking for literary quality, energy, innovation, interesting plots, memorable characters, dialogue that rings true, fresh language, and a sure voice.

The Kay Nelson Memorial Essay Prize was established in 2013 by Prof. Alison Sainsbury to honor her aunt, Kay Nelson, a prolific writer of short and often humorous essays whose work is a testament to the personal essay’s most essential truth: individual voice and idiosyncratic vision enliven even the most quotidian of experiences.

To enter the Kay Nelson Memorial Essay Prize, students should submit one essay, double-spaced, of no more than 5,000 words (shorter essays are more than acceptable!). Traditional as well as more experimental forms of the essay are welcomed.  The winner receives $100.

Students may submit only one entry to each competition (but may submit to multiple competitions).

Members of the English department faculty will serve as preliminary judges, with five manuscripts for each competition passed on to a final off-campus judge who’s an accomplished, published writer.

All entries should be submitted to Kathie Bradley, English Department Office Coordinator, in the English Department's main office (on the first floor of the English House) by 4:30 p.m. on Monday, February 29, 2016.

For additional information, contact Professor Alison Sainsbury at or 309-556-3165.