Meet Our Newest Professor

Molly Robey, Assistant Professor of English


In Memoriam

Jim McGowan

 James Denise McGowan




Congratulations English majors from Class of 2014! 

Upcoming Events

Saturday, June 21, 2014--Experience IWU (Parent Orientation)

Friday, August 15, 2014--International Student Orientation

Saturday, August 16, 2014--MALANA Student Orientation

Tuesday, August 19, 2014--New Students Arrive

Tuesday, August 19 thru Sunday, August 24, 2014--Turning Titan (New Student Orientation and Registration)

Saturday, August 23 and Sunday, August 24, 2014--Returning Students Arrive

Monday, August 25, 2014--First Day of Classes

In the News

Colleen O'Connor, '014, was named as a 2014 Mellon Humanities Scholar.




Assistant Professor of English Joanne Diaz is the winner of the 2014 Brittingham Prize in Poetry.






President's Club Senior Writing Award  

Recipient--Colleen O'Connor


2014 Writing Award Winners

2014 Writing Award Recipients

Kaitlin McManus, Colleen O'Connor, and Shane McGowan
(sculpture by Michael Ferris, Jr.)

2014--Writing Award Recipients Announced                             

Winner: Kaitlin McManus, for her short story, “Those Who Can’t.”
Honorable Mention: Shane McGowan                                                            

Winner: Colleen O’Connor

Winner: Colleen O’Connor, for her essay, “Darling, It’s Better”
Honorable Mentions: Olivia Anderson, for “Blood Tide,” and Mack Rivkin, for “The Private Collection”


jeffneukom  Argus Features Editor, Jeff Neukom, wins "2013 Award for Excellence in Illinois College Newspapers" - sponsored by Illinois College Press Association.

English department Student Assistant and Argus Features Editor honored by ICPA.

The Illinois College Press Association, an organization made up of all the four-year college newspapers in the state, announced the winners of their annual competition for college journalisms, and English department TA and Argus Features Editor Jeff Neukom was awarded a First Place plaque for News Story. 

Congratulations to the Sigma Tau Delta new members!

On Sunday, January 26, 2014, the English honor society, Sigma Tau Delta, ten new members.

2014 Sigma Tau Delta New Members
2014 Newly initiated Sigma Tau Delta Members: Patrick Cavanaugh, Michael Wettengel, Olivia Anderson, Hannah Dhue, Mack Rivkin, Elise Brubaker,  Erica Kucharski,  Kinzie Schweigert
Not pictured: Joseph Ruskey and Nick Anderson
2014 Sigma Tau Delta Board
Sigma Tau Delta Executive Board 2013-2014: (left to right) Kevin Brown, Patrick Burke, Audra Kuchling, Bobby Castillo, Stephanie Fenty, Tia Sprengel, Rachel Branson
2014 Guest Speak: Meg Miner, University Archivist & Special Collections Librarian and Assistant Professor.

Congratulations to Hannah Dhue, semi-finalist in the the 2013 NCTE Norman Mailer Writing Award for non-fiction!

Plath publishes anthology of Carver criticism

Charles (Chip) Corwin, Class of 2005, Graduates Law School with Honors

Sainsbury Honored With 2013 Dougan Award

Alumni update: Ashley Lauren Samsa’s blog posting published in The Guardian

Terkla and Diaz named finalists for Professor of the Year

What is Disgust? Book by Kelly '97 Offers New Answers

Daniel Kelly '97 discusses the character and evolution of disgust in his book, Yuck! The Nature and Moral Significance of Disgust.



Welcome to the English House!

English is one of the most popular majors at Illinois Wesleyan. Our curriculum prepares students for graduate study, for teaching in secondary schools, and for entry into professions that stress verbal skills and education in the humanities—fields such as law, journalism, publishing, government, and business. But whatever field they enter, students find that employers value the skills an English major develops.
English House

The department offers two sequences for majors: a Literature sequence and a Writing sequence that includes journalism and/or creative writing.

It all starts at the English House, a 1911 Prairie-style residence designed by local architect Arthur Pillsbury. His daughter, Frances, was an English major at IWU, and the building has been home to the department since the Seventies.

The English department consists of 140 majors and minors and 11 full-time faculty members, seven of whom have received the University’s highest teaching award. Walk through the house and you’ll find faculty in their offices working one-on-one with students or just chatting. Whether it’s helping you find the right grad school and study-abroad program or just giving you a sounding board to talk about concerns, faculty spend time with you not because they have to, but because they want to.

Our faculty members bring a wealth of experience to the classroom. Half of us have published books, and all are active professionally. We attend conferences, we serve on boards, we write creatively, and we work with community organizations. Among us are playwrights, film critics, songwriters, desktop publishers, award-winning writers, and literary scholars. Whatever your interest, there’s a good chance it’ll be shared by someone on the English department faculty.


English Department

Mary Ann Bushman, Acting Chair
Illinois Wesleyan University
PO Box 2900
Bloomington, IL 61702

English Department Office Hours:
Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Phone: (309) 556-3333
Fax: (309) 556-3545

Around the House - IWU English Department News

"Literature is news that stays news."

    -- Ezra Pound