Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

News from the Chemistry Department


  • Dr. Mohan and HIS STUDENTS (ERICK LOPEZ, 2023 and SOPHIE THORP, 2023) published a review article titles "Applications of Bismuth Compounds in Organic Synthesis" in the journal POLYHEDRON.  


  • Dr. Mohan and his students published a manuscript titled "Bismuth(III) chloride catalyzed multicomponent synthesis of substituted hexahydroimidazo[1, 2-a]pyridines" in Green & Sustainable Chemistry. Congratulations to Matthew Crosse (Senior Bio Major), Richie Guingrich (Class '21), Noah Haskin (Class '20). and Allison Schrader (Senior Chemistry Major). 


  • Departmental Award Night was held on April 16. We are pleased to announce the 2021 Alumni of The Year: Dr. Dave Aggen (Class of 2005).  Dave is currently an Assistant attending at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, Department of Medicine. Dave got his MD-PhD degree from University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. We are extremely proud of Dave.  Go Titans! 


Ram Mohan - Wendell and Loretta Hess Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Chair of Chemistry

Department - Chemistry