School of Music

Symposium of Contemporary Music

Illinois Wesleyan University School of Music Presents...

Symposium of Contemporary Music LXIV

September 21-22, 2018


Featured Guest Composer

Pamela Z
Photo Credit: rubra (courtesy of Ars Electronica)

Pamela Z

Composer / Performer / Sound Artist

Friday, September 21
7:30 PM, Westbrook Auditorium
Pamela Z in Concert
Original compositions for voice, electronics and video

Saturday, September 22
10:30 AM, Westbrook Auditorium
"The Extended Performer," Presentation by Pamela Z

Both events are free and open to the public.

Pamela Z is a composer/performer and media artist who works primarily with voice, live electronic processing, sampled sound, and video. A pioneer of live digital looping techniques, she processes her voice in real time to create dense, complex sonic layers. Her solo works combine experimental extended vocal techniques, operatic bel canto, found objects, text, digital processing, and wireless MIDI controllers that allow her to manipulate sound with physical gestures. In addition to her solo work, she has been commissioned to compose scores for dance, theatre, film, and chamber ensembles including Kronos Quartet, the Bang on a Can All Stars, Ethel, and San Francisco Contemporary Music Players. Her interdisciplinary performance works have been presented at venues including The Kitchen (NY), Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (SF), REDCAT (LA), and MCA (Chicago), and her installations have been presented at such exhibition spaces as the Whitney (NY), the Diözesanmuseum (Cologne), and the Krannert (IL). Pamela Z has toured extensively throughout the US, Europe, and Japan. She has performed in numerous festivals including Bang on a Can at Lincoln Center (New York), Interlink (Japan), Other Minds (San Francisco), La Biennale di Venezia (Italy), Dak’Art (Sénégal) and Pina Bausch Tanztheater Festival (Wuppertal, Germany). She is the recipient of numerous awards including a Robert Rauschenberg Foundation residency, a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Doris Duke Artist Impact Award, Herb Alpert Award in the Arts, an Ars Electronica honorable mention, and the NEA Japan/US Friendship Commission Fellowship. She holds a music degree from the University of Colorado, Boulder.

Previous Guest Composers, Performers, Scholars

2017 Fall - Judith Shatin

2016 Fall - Eve Beglarian

2016 Spring - Kyle Gann

2015 - Fifth House Ensemble, Jonathan Green, Mario Pelusi, David Vayo

2014 - John Daversa

2013 - Chinary Ung, Adam Greene, Susan Ung, Stacey Fraser, Jocelyn Chang

2012 - Shulamit Ran

2011 - Song Ming-zhu, Yang Xaiozhong, Zhou Tianli

2009 - Onix Ensemble

2008 Fall - John Sharpley, Orchid Ensemble

2008 Spring - Roderik and Annelie de Man

2007 - Stephen Paulus

2006 - New York New Music Ensemble

2005 - Vince Mendoza

2004 - Louis Andriessen, Monica Germino, Cristina Zavalloni, James Quandt

2003 - Mario Lavista

2002 - Present Music Ensemble

2001 - William Bolcom, Joan Morris

2000 - Libby Larsen

1999 - John Corigliano

1998 - Arvo Part

1997 - Joseph Schwantner

1996 - Morton Gould Memorial Concert

1995 - David Diamond

1993 Fall - Leslie Bassett, John Crawford (Society o Composers, Inc. Region 5 Conference)

1993 Spring - Alexander Aslamazov

1991 - Alice Parker

1990 - Karel Husa

1989 - Hale Smith

1988 - John Beall

1987 - Jan Bach

1986 - Jean Eichelberger Ivey

1985 - Michael Schelle

1984 - Robert Bankert, Abram M. Plum, R. Bedford Watkins

1983 - Georg Crumb Concert

1982 - David Ward-Steinman

1981 - Walter S. Hartley

1979 - Leonard B. Meyer

1978 - M. William Karlins

1977 - Lou Harrison, Ezra Sims

1976 - Donald Erb

1975 - Davi Ward-Steinman

1974 - Scott Huston

1973 - Courtney Cox, Phil Wilson

1972 - Stravinsk Memorial Concert

1971 - Edward J. Miller

1970 - Halim El-Badh, Olly Wilson

1969 - The Loop Group, Depaul University

1968 - Iain Hamilton

1967 - Frederick Tillis, George Crumb

1966 - Louis Coyner, Edwin Harkins, Philip Winsor, Edwin London

1964 - Robert Wykes, E.J. Ulrich, Salvatore Martirano, Herbert Brun, Ben Johnston

1963 - Robert Wykes, Alabama String Quartet

1962 - Robert Erikson, George Rochberg, Glenn Glasow

1960 - Roy Harris

1959 - Paul Pisk, George Rochberg

1958 - Aaron Copland

1957 - Ernst Krenek, William Bergma

1956 - Hunter Johnson, Ulysses Kay

1955 - Wallingford Riegger, Peter Mennin

1954 - Normand Lockwood, Robert Palmer

1953 - Anthony Donato, Homer Keller

1952 - Earl George, Grant Fletcher, Burrill Phillips

About the Symposium

The Annual Symposium of Contemporary Music, established in 1952, brings prominent guest composers or performers to campus each year for a two-to-three-day residency. IWU faculty and students participate in the performance of works by guest composers and in discussions on aesthetic or analytical issues.  Guests also give master classes and presentations to composition and performance students.

Recent guests of the Symposium include renowned composers Louis Andriessen, Shulamit Ran and Chinary Ung, and the acclaimed New York New Music Ensemble, Orchid Ensemble of Vancouver and Ensemble ONIX of Mexico City. The Symposium forms part of IWU's New Music Series, which also includes concerts of contemporary music by guest composers and performers, faculty performances, the New Music Cafe concert series, ensemble concerts featuring new music, and programs of student compositions.