State Farm Celebrates Scholarship Recipients

Students had the opportunity to meet and thank State Farm representatives for the opportunities created by their scholarship support.

March 4, 2016 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— The annual State Farm Scholars luncheon, which took place on Feb. 19 in the Young Main Lounge, brought company representatives to Illinois Wesleyan's campus to meet with many of this year’s 100 scholarship recipients that are supported by this State Farm Companies Foundation program. 

Illinois Wesleyan President Eric Jensen welcomed the scholarship students and representatives from State Farm to the luncheon. Jensen expressed his appreciation to State Farm for their commitment to the State Farm Scholars program, and the many other ways in which the company supports the University and its students.

Kevin Callis, a 1985 Illinois Wesleyan graduate and vice president of operations and corporate law for State Farm, spoke on behalf of the company. Callis also commented on the close ties and long-standing partnerships the State Farm Company has had with Illinois Wesleyan, and the many Illinois Wesleyan graduates it employs. Joining Callis at the luncheon were 16 other State Farm representatives, including eight IWU graduates. 

Katherine Henebry '19 and Brock Taylor '18 spoke on behalf of the current group of scholarship recipients. In addition to expressing thanks to the company, they commented on their Illinois Wesleyan experiences and the difference the State Farm scholarship program has made and the opportunities it has created for them. 

Over the eight years of the State Farm Scholars program, approximately 275 Illinois Wesleyan students have benefited from this scholarship program.  

To learn more about the State Farm Scholars program, contact Van Miller, director of annual giving, at (309) 556-3127.