Mortar Board Egas Chapter Inducts Jensen, New Members

April 8, 2016

Mortar Board Group
Some of the newly inducted Mortar Board members pose with President Eric Jensen. 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan University’s Mortar Board Egas Chapter has inducted President Eric Jensen as an honorary member along with 18 new collegiate members.

Mortar Board is a national honor society recognizing students for their exemplary scholarship, leadership and service. New inductees include Michael Bellino ’18, Zachary Kinney ’18, Brock Taylor ’18, Cody Williamson ’17, Timothy Leiser ’16, Ray Bolton ’18, Brian Yager ’17, Emily Brown ’17, Emily Snider ’17, Megan Koch ’17, Emily Diaz’17 , Moyo Ajayi ’17, Annika Anderson’18 , Keila Magafas ’18, Jinze Zheng ’17, Kiersten Bergquist ’18 and Max Scholle ’17. They join members Stephanie Stahl ’16, Rachel Ende ’16, Hayley Roberts ’16, Jessica Kraut ’16, Emily Shankar ’16 and Meaghan Mormann ’16.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership, promotes service to colleges and universities, and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Notable Mortar Board members include author and subject of the film 127 Hours Aron Ralston, astronaut Judith Resnick and former Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice.

Illinois Wesleyan’s chapter was chartered in 2009 and takes its chapter name, “Egas,” in honor of IWU’s inactive senior women’s honor society, which was established at the University in 1937.