Winners Named for Juried Student Art Show

“Self-Portrait” by Kate Halford ’19

Feb. 12, 2016

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— An acrylic painting entitled “Self-Portrait” by Kate Halford ’19 (Springfield, Ill.) is the winner of two awards, including the President’s Award, in the annual Juried Student Art Exhibition at Illinois Wesleyan University. The President’s Award is chosen by President and Mrs. Eric Jensen.

Other awards include:

The Mike Mayo Award, sponsored by alumnus Mike Mayo ’02 and co-sponsored by alumnus Wes Dyke ’02, to Ross Knezovich’16, an art major from Naperville, Ill., for his monoprint “Elephants on Parade;”    

The Director’s Award, sponsored and chosen by School of Art Director Kevin Strandberg, to Justice Macklin ’16, an art major from Flossmoor, Ill., for “A Light Snack,” archival ink jet;

Gallery Awards – chosen by the School of Art faculty, to Kelly Mangan ’17 (Schaumburg, Ill.) for “Self Portrait,” acrylic; Ania Bui ’18 for her aluminum sculpture entitled “Eden,” and Halford.        

This year’s exhibition, the 29h annual, remains on display through Feb. 25 at the Merwin and Wakeley Galleries in the Joyce G. Eichhorn Ames School of Art Building. The exhibition celebrates student achievements in drawing, painting, photography and sculpture. Gallery hours are 12 to 4 p.m. Monday-Friday, 7-9 p.m. Tuesday evenings, and 1-4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.