School of Theatre Arts to Stage Fame: The Musical

FameApril 1, 2016

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University’s School of Theatre Arts will present Fame: The Musical April 12-17.

Developed by David De Silva, and with music by Steve Margoshes and lyrics by Jacques Levy, the musical follows the final class at New York City’s renowned High School for the Performing Arts from their admission in 1980 through graduation in 1984. Their struggles, fears and triumphs — from prejudice to substance abuse — are depicted with razor-sharp focus as the young artists navigate the worlds of music, drama and dance.

Associate Professor of Theatre Jean Kerr is directing Illinois Wesleyan’s production of Fame: The Musical. The cast includes Chris Long ’16 of Commerce City, Colo., (Mr. Myers); Conor Finnerty-Esmonde ’17 of St. Paul, Minn., (Nick); Emily Hardesty ’18, Peoria, Ill., (Serena); Jeffrey Keller ’18, Plantation, Fla., (Joe); Erica Werner ’16, Lake Forest, Ill., (Ms. Bell); Evan Dolan ’16, Dubuque, Ia., (Jack); and Juna Shai ’18, Musashimurayamo, Japan, (Carmen). Rounding out the cast are Haley Miller ’17 of Racine, Wis., (Mabel); Jessica Smith ’17, East Peoria, Ill., (Iris); Timothy Foszcz ’18, Hoffman Estates, Ill., (Mr. Scheinkopf); Steven Shur ’17 of Lake Bluff, Ill., (Schlomo); LeeAnna Studt ’17, Belleville, Ill., (Lambchops); Holden Ginn ’18, St. Peters, Mo., (Goody); and Jenia Head ’17, Southfield, Mich., (Ms. Sherman). The ensemble includes Kenny Tran ’17, Trev Gabel ’17, Kelsey Bearman ’16, Dana Clouser ’18, Cadence Lamb ’18, and Julia Cicchino ’16. Connor Speck ‘17 of St. Charles, Ill. leads costume design.

Curtain is at 8 p.m. April 12-16 and 2 p.m. on April 17 in the Jerome Mirza Theatre in McPherson Hall, 2 Ames Plaza East. Tickets are $12 for Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday, and $14 for Friday and Saturday performances. The Wednesday performance is free. Tickets for students are $2 with valid ID. Call the box office for tickets or more information at (309) 556-3232. The box office is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 12:30 to 5 p.m. and Tuesday from 12:30 to 4 p.m.

By Emily Phelps ’19