Wes Chapman

Chapman Named 2016 Dougan Award Honoree

April 21, 2016

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan Associate Professor of English Wes Chapman has been named the recipient of the 2016 James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance.  The Dougan Award honors the late professor of psychology who died unexpectedly during the fall of 2010.

The annual award, created by the Illinois Wesleyan chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), recognizes valuable service by a faculty member in keeping with Dougan's commitment to the faculty's right to help shape the direction of the University.

“No one in faculty governance makes things happen on his or her own--it's always a group effort, always a conversation, if not an outright argument,” said Chapman in commenting on the award.  “Its non-hierarchical, deliberative nature, although often frustrating, is precisely its greatest strength, and very different from most other forms of governance.  It has been a privilege to have been a part of that conversation, and I am honored to be recognized for having played a part in it.”   

In announcing this year’s Dougan Award winner, AAUP Chapter President Brian Brennan, noted that Chapman has a long list of contributions to faculty governance, and read excerpts from several nominating letters that praised the manner in which Chapman discusses and debates important issues with his colleagues. 

One nominator noted, “More important … than the fact that [he] has served, and even that he has served at high levels, is ... [his] manner of service, which is exemplary of thoughtful, committed engagement with shared governance. While always bringing relevant ideas and perspectives to conversations, [he] simply is interested in a fair conversation and smart, productive outcomes….”

Another nominating letter summarized Chapman’s contributions in this way,  “it is the texture of [his] presence in faculty leadership that most distinguishes his work.”

An English literature faculty member, Chapman served as English Department chair for four years, was chair of the Council on University Programs and Policies (CUPP), and was named a faculty representative on the most recent presidential search committee. Chapman was the 2010 recipient of the Kemp Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence, the University’s highest teaching honor.  The faculty nominates recipients of the Kemp award with the final selection made by the Promotion and Tenure Committee.