Student Newspaper Wins Two Editorial Awards

Argus staffers (from left) Ana Erickson '18, Giovanni Solano '18, Jeff Neukom '17 and Rosa Zapata '18 with their awards at the Illinois College Press Association Convention. 

March 8, 2016

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— The Argus, Illinois Wesleyan’s student newspaper, received two awards for editorials at the recent Illinois College Press Association Convention in Chicago.

The Argus editorial board received a first place award and an honorable mention in the Editorial category for non-daily papers in the small school division (enrollment under 4,000). Approximately 38 schools contributed 1,260 entries to this year’s award competition. Argus staff members accepting the award were Jeff Neukom ’17, editor-in-chief; Giovanni Solano ’18, managing editor; Rosa Zapata ’18, news editor; and Ana Erickson ’18, features editor.

The Argus, which has been published weekly since 1894, is one of the longest continually published college newspapers in the United States. James Plath, R. Forrest Colwell Endowed Chair and Professor of English, serves as faculty advisor.