Students Selected for 2015 Eckley Fellowships

April 17, 2015  

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan University has announced the 2015 recipients of the Eckley Scholars and Artists Program.

Established by President Emeritus and Mrs. Robert S. Eckley before he passed away, the program’s fellowships are awarded to meritorious students to remain on campus over the summer under the supervision of a faculty mentor. The program is designed to support the development of a student’s scholarly or artistic project in hopes of deepening research and creative competencies. Faculty have the opportunity to work with talented students by providing professional mentorship on topics of mutual scholarly or artistic interest. Selected students receive a $4,000 stipend and complimentary on-campus housing.

The Faculty Development Committee has selected the following students:


Student: Stephanie AuBuchon ’16 (Glen Ellyn, Ill.)

Project: “Do dogs possess self-control?”

Supervisor: Assistant Professor of Psychology Ellen Furlong


Student: David Allen Flowers ’16 (Evanston, Ill.)

Project:Sky: A Soundscape Composition for Symphony Orchestra”

Supervisor: Director of the School of Music and Professor of Music Mario Pelusi


Student: Michelle Riechers ’16 (Grant Park, Ill.)  

Project: “The Economic Impact of Two Cultural Enterprises in Bloomington-Normal”

Supervisor: Associate Professor of Economics Diego Mendez-Carbajo


Student: Ryan Schonert ’16 (Fairmount, Ill.)

Project: “Delving Deeper into Space: Observing Areas Surrounded by Interstellar Dust”

Supervisor: Associate Professor of Physics Thushara Perera


Student: Wenting Zhao ’18 (China)

Project: “Investigating Infeasible Constraint Systems”

Supervisor: Assistant Professor of Computer Science Mark Liffiton