New Illinois Wesleyan Trustees Named, Officers Elected

Deon Hornsby '97
Dr. Stephen Ondra '80
Jill E. York '85

May 18, 2015

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— At Illinois Wesleyan University's final 2014-15 Board of Trustees meeting on May 15, three new members were named and the current officers were re-elected to serve for the coming 2015-16 academic year.

Of the 42 Board members, nine current members were re-elected, and two new trustees and one new Alumni Association Trustee representative were named. Following are the three new Board members.

New Alumni Association Trustee Deon Hornsby '97, of Chicago, has worked as an assistant vice president-underwriting manager for the Great Lakes Region at AIG in Chicago since 2008.

While at IWU, Hornsby was an executive board member of the Black Student Union for two years, a three-year letter winner in football (a member of the undefeated 1996 team), and a member of the Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity. In 1999, he became an executive board member of the Minority Alumni Network, where he served as co-chair for six years. He currently serves as an executive board member of the IWU Alumni Association. Hornsby remains very active in the IWU community, regularly participating in minority mentoring sessions for students at Homecoming and in the annual MALANA orientation for first-year students and their parents. He previously served as co-chair for his 15th class reunion and as chair for his 5th class reunion. He won the IWU Loyalty Award in 2011.

New trustee Stephen L. Ondra, M.D. '80, of Chicago, currently serves as Senior Vice President/Chief Medical Officer at Health Care Services Corporation. 

As a student at Illinois Wesleyan, Ondra was a member of the Sigma Pi Fraternity, Beta Beta Beta, Phi Eta Sigma, Green Medallion, Interfraternity Council, Blue Key, Student Senate and College Republicans. He received the 1980 Outstanding Senior award and, later, the 2008 Distinguished Alumnus award. Ondra entered military service upon graduation, then served in the Army and completed his doctorate at Rush Medical College. He became a professor of neurological surgery at Northwestern University while simultaneously working with the Department of Defense as the chairman of the Defense Spinal Cord Board and Spinal Column Injury Program, and the Defense Spine Blast Injury Program. In 2009, Ondra was appointed as Senior Health Policy Advisor for the Secretary of Veterans Affairs and in 2010, he was assigned to the Executive Office of the President of the United States. 

Jill E. York '85, of Rosemont, Illinois, is currently the vice president and chief financial officer at MB Financial Bank, where she also serves as director of the bank.

As a student at IWU, York played basketball all four years and was a letter winner. After graduating, York earned an MBA from the University of Chicago and then became partner with the public accounting firm of McGladrey & Pullen, LLP where she worked for 15 years. She served as the President of the Illinois Congress of Parents and Teachers in 2004. She was a 2011 nominee for Illinois Wesleyan's Distinguished Alumni Award. Prior to the MB-MidCity merger, she served as vice president and chief financial officer of Old MB Financial.

Board of Trustees officers that were re-elected for the 2015-16 academic year include: George A. Vinyard '71, chair; Herbert A. Getz '77, vice chair; Willie G. Brown, vice chair; Thomas L. Brown '79, vice chair; Jean M. Baird '80, secretary; and Robert E. Field '67, treasurer. 

Those members re-elected include:  Jean M. Baird '80, Michael A. Clark '76, Mary E. Crego '79, Herbert A. Getz '77, Michael A. Mason '80, Byron Tucci '66, George A. Vinyard '71, Steven J. Wannemacher '73, and David G. Wilkins '74.

By Ann Aubry