Eby '15 Recognized as 2014 Lincoln Laureate

Hannah Eby '15 with her parents, John and Kristen Eby.

Nov. 13, 2014

Hannah Eby ’15 of Dubuque, Iowa has been named a 2014 Student Laureate by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois, recognized for her outstanding academic commitment and extracurricular activities.

“I am overwhelmingly grateful for the opportunities that IWU has provided and the unceasing support of faculty and my fellow students over these past four years,” Eby said. “I am honored to accept this award on behalf of the many students at IWU who are dedicated to learning and social justice.”

Now in it’s 40th year celebrating student excellence, The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards honor seniors from colleges and universities throughout Illinois. Eby was recognized at the annual Student Laureate Convocation and was accompanied by University Chaplain Elyse Nelson Winger.

Hannah Eby '15 and University Chaplain Elyse Nelson Winger

A double major in Hispanic studies and music, Eby has served as a Multifaith Ambassador for three years and is founder and president of the registered student organization Interfaith. “Both of these organizations focus on inter-religious peace-building on campus and in the community,” Eby said.

Active in the community, Eby is a director of Mini Masters, an Illinois Wesleyan student music program serving youth at the Boys & Girls Club of Bloomington-Normal. She runs a biannual food drive on campus to benefit students at Cedar Ridge Elementary School, and is currently working with The Immigration Project to share local immigrant stories.

Eby also plays flute and piccolo for Illinois Wesleyan’s Civic Orchestra, Wind Ensemble and Titan Band.

During the spring of 2014, Eby studied abroad in Peru. SIT Study Abroad honored Eby for her independent research in a Quechua community, a people of the central Andes.

After graduation, Eby hopes to continue her research endeavors abroad. “I am currently applying for research grants abroad, and I plan to begin graduate studies in the fall of 2016.”

By Tia Patsavas ’16