Roesner to Receive National Teaching Award

Rebecca Roesner

May 22, 2014

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan University Associate Professor of Chemistry Rebecca Roesner has been selected as this year’s recipient of Iota Sigma Pi’s Centennial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

The award is given for excellence to a female scientist and educator for her undergraduate teaching in chemistry, biochemistry or a chemistry-related field. Iota Sigma Pi is a national honor society for women in chemistry. Roesner will receive the award at the organization’s triennial convention in June.

“I’m deeply grateful to Iota Sigma Pi for its support and recognition of women chemists for over 100 years,” said Roesner. “I’m also grateful to be on a campus where teaching and advising are a top priority.”

An inorganic chemist, Roesner also serves as chair of Illinois Wesleyan’s Department of Chemistry. She is the 2014 recipient of the Kemp Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence, the University’s highest teaching honor. Roesner has involved more than 50 students in her research projects, many of which concern polyoxometalates: catalytic, inorganic compounds that form between oxygen and certain transition metals such as vanadium, molybdenum and tungsten. She is also interested in developing multi-week laboratory projects for the undergraduate curriculum that provide students with authentic, real-world, problem-solving experience.

Roesner’s work has been published in Journal of Inclusion Phenomena and Molecular Recognition in Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Advances in Inorganic Chemistry and The Chemical Educator. She has presented her work at the International Symposium on Macrocyclic Chemistry, the Biennial Conference on Chemical Education and numerous meetings of the American Chemical Society.

She is a longtime and active member of Iota Sigma Pi, and a member of the American Chemical Society and Phi Beta Kappa. Roesner joined the faculty at Illinois Wesleyan in 1997 and has served multiple times on the University’s Curriculum Council. She also serves as a First-Year Advisor and member of the Pre-Medical Advisory Committee.

Contact: Kim Hill, (309) 556-3960,