New Illinois Wesleyan Trustees Named and Officers Elected

Mark Ohlendorf '82
Dr. Laura Randolph '92
J. William Roberts '64

May 19, 2014

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— At Illinois Wesleyan University’s final 2013-14 Board of Trustees meeting on May 16, three new members were named and the current officers were re-elected to serve for the coming 2014-15 academic year. 

Of the 42 Board members, 10 current members were re-elected, and two new trustees and one new Alumni Association Trustee representative were named. Following are the three new Board members.

Mark W. Ohlendorf of Milwaukee received a bachelor of arts degree in political science from Illinois Wesleyan in 1982. He has over 25 years of experience in the health care and long-term care industries and currently serves as co-president and chief financial officer of Brookdale Senior Living, the nation’s largest owner and operator of senior living communities throughout the United States and a leading national provider of senior-related services. Previously he served in several executive management positions at Alterra: CEO and president, chief financial officer and senior vice president. While a student at Illinois Wesleyan, he was a member of Sigma Chi Fraternity and participated on the men’s golf team.   

Laura C. Randolph, M.D. of Bloomington, named as an Alumni Association trustee, graduated from Illinois Wesleyan with honors in biology in 1992 and received her medical training at Loyola University of Chicago’s Stritch School of Medicine. While a Wesleyan student, she was a member of Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority and the professional & honorary sororities of Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta Sigma. Dr. Randolph is currently a member of the Council for IWU Women and has served on the Marketing and Promotion Committee.

J. William Roberts of Springfield, elected as an active trustee,received his bachelor’s degree in political science from Illinois Wesleyan in 1964 and a juris doctorate degree from the Washington University School of Law in 1967. He is managing partner of Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP, which has offices in eight states. Roberts previously served as chief legal counsel for Illinois Governor Jim Edgar and was United States Attorney for the Central District of Illinois. A native of Jacksonville, Ill., Roberts received the University’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2003. He served as a member of the Board of Trustees from 2006 until May 2013, at which time he became an Emeritus Trustee and now under new bylaws returns to active trustee status.

Those members re-elected include:  Richard S. Ames, Thomas C. McKinney, Jr. ’76 Phyllis Barker ’73, Thomas L. Brown ’79, John S. Esch ’79, Robert E. Field ’67, Steven A. Ring ’79, Ronald L. Ruecker ’66, James A. Shirk and Timothy J. Szerlong ’74.

Board of Trustees officers that were re-elected for the 2014-15 academic year include: George A. Vinyard ’71, chair; Herbert A. Getz ’77, vice chair; Willie G. Brown, vice chair; Thomas L. Brown ’79, vice chair; Jean M. Baird ’80, secretary; and Robert E. Field ’67, treasurer.

The next regular meeting of the Board of Trustees will take place Oct. 27-28 on the Illinois Wesleyan campus.

Contact: Matt Kurz, (309) 556-3203