Dougan Award's Sponsor Named Recipient

JoergHans Joerg-Tiede

April 28, 2014

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan University Chair and Professor of Computer Science Hans-Joerg Tiede first proposed creating the James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance at Illinois Wesleyan. This year, Tiede is the recipient of that honor.

Dougan, a professor of psychology, passed away in October 2010. The award was created by the Illinois Wesleyan chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), to recognize valuable service by a faculty member in keeping with Dougan’s commitment to the faculty’s right to a voice in shaping the direction of the institution. The award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates extraordinary service, such as in advocating for faculty interests, for academic freedom, or in finding cooperative solutions to campus challenges.

In addition to his prior service as president of the Illinois Wesleyan chapter of AAUP, Tiede is active in the organization at the national level. He currently serves on Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure, the Committee on College and University Governance, and as chair of the Committee on the History of the Association.

“Insisting on the role of the faculty in the governance of the institution is not based on a wish to have power, but it’s based on the presumption that it’s in the best interest of the academic mission of the institution,” said Tiede. “Questions about curriculum, questions about promotion and tenure, and questions about other matters involving faculty should be first and foremost based on the judgment of those who have the most expertise in those matters.”

In announcing the award, AAUP chapter president Rebecca Roesner said Tiede courageously stands his ground, but also possesses a willingness to shift views in response to a solid argument and the ability to see the good and decency in colleagues with views diametrically opposed to his own.

“While never satisfied with good enough, he often acknowledges that Illinois Wesleyan does comparatively well when it comes to faculty governance,” said Roesner, chair and associate professor of chemistry. “And he knows what he is talking about, having given presentations on how to incorporate AAUP statements into faculty handbooks at numerous institutions of higher learning.” Read her full remarks.

Tiede said his involvement chairing Illinois Wesleyan’s Health Care Advocacy Committee led to his work with AAUP, both locally and at the national level. He also served Illinois Wesleyan as chair of CUPP (Council for University Programs and Policies), where he served as the faculty representative at the President’s Cabinet and to the executive committee of the Board of Trustees.  

A faculty member at Illinois Wesleyan since 1999, Tiede completed undergraduate studies at the Free University Berlin and earned master’s and doctoral degrees from Indiana University. In addition to his leadership of the computer science department, Tiede also directs the University’s Cognitive Science program.

   Contact: Kim Hill, (309) 556-3960