Students Named Eckley Summer Scholars and Artists

April 28, 2014                    

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan has announced its student recipients of the 2014 Eckley Summer Scholars and Artists Endowment. The program, established by the late President Emeritus Robert S. Eckley, his wife Nell and the Eckley Family Foundation, enables four or five students to stay on campus each summer to work on research and creative projects under the direction of faculty mentors.

Following are the students, projects and faculty sponsors who have been awarded a 2014 Eckley Summer Scholars and Artists Fellowship by the Faculty Development Committee, chaired by Diego Mendez-Carbajo, associate professor of economics:

Student: Natalie Hoijer (’15) of Arlington Heights, Ill., School of Music
Project: Mathematical Symmetry in Music
Sponsor: Director of the School of Music and Professor of Music Mario Pelusi

Student: Mike Kistner (’15) of Bloomington, Ill., Political Science Department
Project: Polarization and Productivity in State Legislatures
Sponsor: Professor of Political Science Tari Renner

Student: Niccole Nelson (’16) of Tinley Park, Ill., Psychology Department
Project: A Measure of Elderly Social Support from Adult Children
Sponsor: Assistant Professor of Psychology Mignon Montpetit

Student: Thomas Simmons (’15) of Evergreen Park, Ill., Mathematics Department
Project: Developing a Hash Function with a Larger Cover of Elliptic Curve Points than Exisiting Solutions
Sponsor: Assistant Professor of Mathematics Andrew Shallue

Student: Kiri Stauch (’15) of Elgin, Ill., Psychology Department
Project: Attention to Intentional Clues in Dogs
Sponsor: Assistant Professor of Psychology Ellen Furlong

For additional information regarding the Eckley Scholars, contact Mendez-Carbajo at or the Advancement Office at (309) 556-3710.

Contact: Hannah Dhue, ’15, (309) 556-3181,