Student Composition Concert

April 11, 2013        

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – The Illinois Wesleyan School of Music will feature a concert of students’ compositions on Friday, April 12, in the Westbrook Auditorium of Presser Hall (1210 N. Park St., Bloomington).  The concert is scheduled to begin at 7:30 p.m. and is free and open to the public.

The School of Music performs student composition concerts twice a year as part of the IWU New Music Series.

The first composition will be Duo for Clarinet and Piano, by Luke Mcloughlin, featuring Andy Smelser on clarinet and Cathryn Volk on piano.  Following will be The, composed by Eric Novak, featuring Abby Lyons on the oboe, Matt Mason on the hammond organ, Andy Smelser on the synthesizer and Michelle Brecunier as the conductor.

The third performance will be Coin Slot Tears, a piece by Ethan Berg and Novak, featuring Novak on vocals and the baritone saxophone, Berg on piano, Derek McAnally on drums, McLoughlin on trombone, Kieren Meyer on bass clarinet and Ayethaw Tun on bass.

Following will be Matt Mason’s Sinister Sleuth, which will be performed by the following students:

  •   Trumpets: Greg Goeden, Shaun Schaefers, Drew Bogen
  •   Trombones: Zach Siegel, Andy Seidel, Brandon Moore

The final compositions are part of the Piano Class Composition Project, featuring Petit Rhapsody performed by Smelser, The Lonely Anomalocaris by John Gholson, and Piano Composition No. 1 by Schaefers.

For additional information, contact the School of Music Office at (309) 556-3061.

Contact: Justin Feng, ‘15 (309) 556-3181,