26th Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition

PosterFeb. 1, 2013  

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University’s School of Art will host the 26th Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition starting Tuesday, Feb. 5 and ending Monday, Feb. 25.  The exhibition will be located at the Merwin and Wakeley Galleries in the Joyce Eichhorn Ames School of Art Building (6 Ames Plaza West, Bloomington).  There will be an opening reception at the galleries on Tuesday, Feb. 5, from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., with an awards ceremony at 4:30 p.m.

The event and exhibit is free and open to the public.  The gallery is open from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on weekends, and between 7 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Tuesday evening.

The Annual Juried Student Art Exhibition showcases work of Illinois Wesleyan University art majors and minors.  All studio art programs will be presented including: painting, drawing, printmaking, graphic design, photography, ceramics, sculpture and glass.

The Mayo Alumni Purchase Award is presented by Michael Mayo and The Ames School of Art faculty annually to a student demonstrating a high level of thought behind his or her work, a strong desire to improve, exceptional attitude and character and leadership within the Ames School of Art. The Mayo Alumni Purchase Award is a monetary award sponsored by Mayo ’02, John Dyke ’02, and Nick Brazis ’02.  Mayo created the award in an effort to stay connected with IWU student artists and the Ames School of Art.

Other awards presented at the exhibition will include the Hart Career Center Purchase Award, which will be displayed at the Center. The National Hall Residence Honorary will select a piece of artwork to use as an award for the residence hall of the year.  The President’s Award will be chosen by Illinois Wesleyan University’s President Richard F. Wilson, and the Director’s Award will be selected by School of Art’s Director Miles Bair.  Additionally, there will be the Memorial Center Purchase Prize as well as other awards.

For additional information, contact Carmen Lozar, gallery director of the Joyce Eichhorn Ames School of Art, at (309) 556-3822.

  Contact: Justin Feng, ‘15 (309) 556-3181, univcomm@iwu.edu