Sainsbury Honored With 2013 Dougan Award

Alison Sainsbury
April 22, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— Illinois Wesleyan Associate Professor of English Alison Sainsbury has been named the third recipient of the James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance.  This award honors the late professor of psychology who died unexpectedly during the fall of 2010.

The Award was created by the Illinois Wesleyan chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), to recognize valuable service by a faculty member in keeping with Dougan's commitment to the faculty's right to help shape  the direction of the University. The award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates extraordinary service, such as in advocating for faculty interests, for academic freedom, or in finding cooperative solutions to campus challenges.

“This year we are pleased to award the Dougan Award to a faculty member who has spoken truth to power for many years at Illinois Wesleyan University,” said Professor Jim Matthews, president of the University’s AAUP chapter, in announcing Sainsbury as the recipient. “Asking direct questions and holding administrators accountable may be the most important way faculty can participate in faculty governance." Matthews went on to note that one such question by Sainsbury changed his life, taking him from the faculty in Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures to service for seven and one-half years as Dean of Students.

“I wouldn't go so far as to say asking questions of the administration is the most important thing we can do, but it's surely one important thing we must do,” said Sainsbury. “It's an honor to be named, but it's more of an honor to have spent more than 20 years as part of this engaged faculty so committed to the principles of faculty governance."

An English literature professor, Sainsbury’s teaching and scholarly interests include post-colonial literature, British Imperialist discourse, women's writing and creative non-fiction. Her memoir Lost River, a meditation on loss and the consolation of place, was a finalist for the Bakeless Literary Prize in 2010. During her years on the faculty, she has chaired the English Department, directed the Women’s Studies Program, chaired the Hearing Committee and the Council on University Programs and Policies (CUPP).

  Contact: Matt Kurz, (309) 556-3203