Mortar Board Chapter Receives Silver Torch Award

Oct. 22, 2012 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill.— The EGAS chapter at Illinois Wesleyan University was among the outstanding Mortar Board chapters to be recognized at the 2012 Mortar Board National Conference, held in Chicago in late July.

The EGAS chapter received the Silver Torch Award. This honor is presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service. Silver Torch Award recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.

Chapter president Zoe Gross and Sarah Carlson, vice president of membership, were present to accept the chapter's award.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the Society has grown from four to 229 chartered collegiate chapters with more than a quarter-million members across the nation. The EGAS chapter at Illinois Wesleyan University was chartered in 2009.

The following 14 seniors, graduating in the spring of 2013, are the current members of the IWU Mortar Board: Zoe Gross (political science major), Joe Daniels (vice president of IWU Mortar Board and environmental studies major), Sarah Carlson (anthropology major), Kelly Brady (psychology and sociology double major), Emma Florio (history major), Rachel Casali (sociology and environmental studies double major), Tim Hegwood (accounting major), Bridget Lam (business administration major), Ted Delicath (political science major), Ross Munsterman (psychology and philosophy double major), Meghan Dinkle (psychology major), Emily Oprins (English writing major), Olivia Dunham (art major) and Katelyn Scott (anthropology major).

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include pioneering engineer Lillian Gilbreth, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Emmy-winning actor Rue McClanahan, astronauts Judith Resnik and Janice Voss, adventurer Aron Ralston and lifestyle expert Bruce Littlefield.

For more information, contact Jenni Szolwinski at or (513) 907-7485, or Sherry Wallace at

Contact: Shea Felde, '14, (309) 556-3181