Childrens Hour Poster
McPherson Theatre to Present The Children’s Hour

September 13, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – The Illinois Wesleyan School of Theatre Arts will present the 1930s drama The Children’s Hour by Lillian Hellman. Performances will take place Tuesday, Sept 27 until Saturday, Oct. 1 at 8 p.m. A matinee performance will be held Sunday, Oct. 2 at 2 p.m. All shows will take place in the University’s McPherson Theatre (2 Ames Plaza East, Bloomington).

First staged on Broadway in 1934, The Children’s Hour takes place at an all-girls boarding school run by two women, Karen Wright and Martha Dobie. When Mary Tilford, one of the young school attendants, runs away and does not wish to return, she convinces her grandmother that the two headmistresses are engaged in a love affair. Her secret spreads throughout the school and community, destroying the lives and reputations of Karen and Martha. Under the direction of IWU Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts Thomas Quinn, the cast and crew of The Children’s Hour work to address the fierce potential of secrets kept not only from others, but from ourselves as well.

Tickets will be available for purchase Monday, Sept 19. General admission is $10 for performances Tuesday through Thursday, and the Sunday matinee. Friday and Saturday performances are $12. Senior citizens receive a $1 discount off the general admission price and student tickets are $2 with a valid school ID. Box office hours of operation are as follows: Monday, Wednesday-Friday, 12:30-5 p.m. and Tuesday, 12:30-4 p.m.

For more information, or to order tickets, contact the McPherson Theatre box office at (309) 556-3232 or visit the School of Theatre Art’s website at

Cast Members: Christine Polich (Karen), Elaina Henderson (Martha), Kirsten Andersen (Mrs. Mortar), Roz Prickel (Mrs. Tilford), Amanda Williams (Agatha) Abby Root (Mary), Michael Holding (Joe Cardin), Rachel Grimes (Catherine), Lizzie Rainville (Lois), Sammi Grant (Evelyn), Chantericka Tucker (Rosalie), Abby Dryden (Helen), Angela Jos (Peggy), Elliott Plowman (Grocery Boy), Fiona Peterson-Quinn (Janet) and Delia Kerr-Dennhart (Leslie).

Production Team: Tom Quinn (Director), Aaron O’Neil (Scenic Designer), Caiti Frantzis (Costume Designer), Krystal Martinez (Lighting Designer), Ian Scarlato (Sound designer) and Liz Carlson (Stage Manager). 

Contact: Kristin Fields, ’12, (309) 556-3181