2011 David Nott Scholarship Recipient Announced

March 30, 2011

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University senior Joseph Muriello, a voice major and art studio minor from Oak Park, Ill., received the David Nott Collegiate Choir Scholarship at the group’s annual home concert on March 22.

Muriello said he was honored to receive the award for his dedication to the choir. “Throughout the three years I’ve been a part of the Collegiate Choir, it’s never felt like work,” he said, “Having the privilege to make such phenomenal music is a life-fulfilling reward.”

The David Nott Scholar is selected by the Collegiate Choir Director J. Scott Ferguson and in consultation with the Director of the School of Music Mario Pelusi.

The award honors the legacy of the late David Nott, professor emeritus of voice and former director of choral activity at IWU. 

Nott, who passed away in December of 2004, taught at IWU for 31 years, bringing recognition to an already distinguished choral program.  He led the Collegiate Choir on an annual spring break tour, which took the group to all corners of the United States and produced critically acclaimed recordings.  Amongst Nott’s most distinguished students are world-renowned opera singers Roger Roloff and Dawn Upshaw, a two-time Grammy Award winner.

For additional information, contact the School of Music office at (309) 556- 3061.

Contact: Hannah Griffin ’12, (309) 556-3181