Tobey Herzog

Tobey Herzog

Photo Credit: Lloyd DeGrane

Alum Named Ford Chair at Wabash College

September 17, 2010

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University alum Tobey C. Herzog was recently named the first holder of the Anne and Andrew T. Ford Chair in Liberal Arts at Wabash College, located in Crawfordsville, Ind.

The Board of Trustees at Wabash College established the chair after the retirement of President Ford, who served that university for 13 years. The chair celebrates the Ford’s leadership of Wabash College, their passion for students, and their belief in vitality and enduring importance of a liberal arts education.

“Tobey is a great choice for this prestigious chair,” said Wabash President Patrick E. White. “His wide-ranging teaching, his commitment to the highest ideals of the gentleman student-athlete, and his modeling of positive leadership in many aspects of Wabash life shows a teacher/scholar living out the liberal arts in his way of being in the world.”

Herzog graduated magna cum laude from IWU in 1968. He went on to earn his doctorate in English Literature from Purdue University and was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest honor society. While at Illinois Wesleyan, Herzog was a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity and served as junior varsity basketball coach under then head coach Dennie Bridges.

In 1976, he began as an English professor at Wabash College, gradually acquiring responsibilities within the college. He has served as chair of the English Department and the Division of the Humanities and Fine Arts, as the chair or co-chair of the Freshman Tutorial Program for 23 years and as the College’s Faculty Marshal since 1985.

In 2002, he began serving as Wabash’s Faculty Athletic Representative to the NCAA and the North Coast Athletic Conference. Although Herzog is busy with his many duties within the college, he has found time to write three books all pertaining to the Vietnam War. This subject is particularly interesting to him since he is a Vietnam veteran.

Herzog’s other achievements include earning a Bronze Star for his service in the Vietnam War, receiving the McLain-McTurnan-Arnold Excellence in Teaching Award, the McLain-McTurnan-Arnold Research Fellowship and Illinois Wesleyan’s own Outstanding Young Alumnus Award in 1981.

Contact: Jessica Hinterlong ‘11, (309) 556-3181