Winter of the Fall
School of Theatre Arts to Perform World Premiere Workshop Musical

April 23, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University’s School of Theatre Art’s BFA in Music Theatre is presenting the world premiere of Lawrence Rush’s musical, Winter of the Fall. The performance will take place Saturday April 25, at 7:30 p.m. in the E. Melba Johnson Kirkpatrick Laboratory Theatre (304 E. Graham St., Bloomington).  A talk back session with Rush will be held on Sunday, April 26 at 2:00 p.m. also in the Laboratory Theatre. Both events are free and open to the public.

Written by Rush and directed by Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts Scott Susong, Winter of the Fall tells the story of the last days of Nicolai and Elene Ceaucescu as dictators of Romania in 1989, 20 years ago. As a 1997 Richard Rodgers Award finalist, Winter of the Fall has won the honor of receiving two readings in New York City, but has never before been staged. Rush has written three new songs for this premiere performance.

Lawrence Rush

Lawrence Rush

Rush, who currently lives in New York City, is a composer, lyricist, and librettist, who wrote his first song at age ten. While in high school, he became the youngest member of the performance group, The Young Americans. Rush then attended California State University in Nothridge, and graduated with a degree in music with a vocal performance concentration. After college, he moved to San Francisco where he became the youngest full-time member of the San Francisco Opera chorus. While in San Francisco Rush performed many opera and music theatre roles, wrote lyrics and music for his first musical, Waiting at Patroni’s, and started writing Winter of Fall. Other pieces written by Rush include, The Long walk to Forever, a mini-musical based on a short story by author Kurt Vonnegut, and Pride and Prejudice, a musical adaptation on Jayne Austen’s novel.  Pride and Prejudice is also a 2008 Richard Rogers Award finalist.

For more information on the workshop performance contact Susong at (309) 556-3558, and for more information on Lawrence Rush visit

Members of the Musical Theatre Workshop: Kyle Blair, Sarah Bockel, Erin Daly, Maia Diaz, Tom Duncan, Kristen Evensen, Chris Feiereisen, Vince Gargaro, Amanda Hentsch, Evan Kasprzak, Hannah Kramer, Erika Lecaj, Alex Pagels, Seth Reid, Nick Reinhart, Melina Rey, Lauren Romano, David Ruben, Katelyn Schmidt, Kevin Schuering, Ryan Simpson, Neil Stratman, Peter J. Studlo, Andrew Temkin, Marlee Turim and Katie Whalley.

Production Team: Gloria Cardoni-Smith (Rehearsal Accompaniment), Sandra Lindberg (Dialect Coach), Marshall Garrett (Stage Manager), Adam Lansing (Lighting), Jeff Feasely (Video and Projections), Jeanne Oost & Marcia McDonald (Wardrobe Coordination), Armie Thompson & Curt Trout (Properties and Scenic Coordination), Gloria Cardoni-Smith (Piano), Jason Gebbink (Keyboard), Saundra DeAthos-Meers & Gloria Cardoni-Smith (Music Direction), Jean MacFarland Kerr (Choreography), Scott Susong (Director).

Contact: Kimberly Stabosz ‘09 (309) 556-3181