Illinois Wesleyan University to Host 228th Chapter of Prestigious Honor Society

November 4, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Mortar Board has announced that Illinois Wesleyan University has been selected to host the 228th chartered chapter of Mortar Board, a prominent national honor society for college seniors.

The group will officially become a chartered chapter at a special installation ceremony held on Sunday, Nov. 8 at 1 p.m. in the Davidson Room of the Memorial Center (104 E. University St., Bloomington). Twenty-two collegiate members and will be inducted into the society.

Mortar Board National President Daniel J. Turner, who will preside over the installation ceremony, will welcome the society’s newest chapter.  “With its rich history, unique curricula, and outstanding student body, I feel that Illinois Wesleyan University is a perfect fit for Mortar Board,” Turner explained.

Mortar Board is a prestigious national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the organization has grown from four founding chapters to what will soon be 228 chartered collegiate chapters with nearly a quarter of a million initiated members across the nation. The chapter will be named “Egas,” in honor of IWU’s inactive senior women’s honor society, established at the University in 1937. All of the chapter’s 220 former members will also be invited to become full members of Mortar Board at this time.

Members of the charter class:

Elizabeth Allen of Chicago, Ill.
Alessandra Bollero of Palm Beach, Fla.
Erin Bradley of Normal, Ill.
Angelo Christophell of LaGrange Park, Ill.
Natalie Cummings of Lakeway, Texas
Michael Engels of Algonquin, Ill.
Jennifer Faust of St. Louis, Mo.
Kerry Gremo of Bloomingdale, Ill.
Kelsey Hample of Macomb, Ill.
Kristen Hosack of Bloomington, Ill.
Ashley Jaconetti of Park Ridge, Ill.
Rachel Kagan of Skokie, Ill.
Amy Kapp of Midland, Mich.
Amy Krzemienski of Wood Dale, Ill.
Emily Marcheschi of Hinsdale, Ill.
Brenda Martinez of Chicago, Ill.
Kari Monegato of Elk Grove Village, Ill.
Britnee Ruscitti of Lisle, Ill.
Janelle Santos of Harwood Heights, Ill.
Morgan Tarbutton of Park Ridge, Ill.
Katherine Utesch of Woodridge, Ill.
Travis Williams of Manteno, Ill.

The chapter’s advisor, Information Services Librarian Sue Stroyan and Mortar Board Chapter President Morgan Tarbutton will accept the charter on behalf of the group. One of Mortar Board’s section coordinators Whitney Tarbutton, will attend the ceremony to welcome the group into the organization.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Lance Armstrong and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor.

In order to have a charter, an institution must be accredited, grant baccalaureate degrees, have support of the university administration, host official visits by a national representative of Mortar Board, and be voted upon by the organization’s board of directors, the National Council.  Additionally, the group should serve as an active honor society that continues to make significant contributions to college and community life.

For more information on the Mortar Board installation ceremony, call the Office of University Communications at (309) 556-3181, or Alicia Notestone, editor and communications coordinator of the Mortar Board National office, at (800) 989-6366 ext. 106.