Roy Bailey

Roy Bailey

Roy Bailey Wins University Staff Honor

April 2, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Roy Bailey, senior desktop specialist at Illinois Wesleyan University, was named 2009 winner of the University’s Max. L. Starkey Service Award at the 18th annual Recognition Celebration at Bloomington’s Double Tree Hotel on Wednesday, April 1.

The Starkey Award, established in 2001, is presented to a member of the administrative, technical, support, security or physical plant staffs nominated by his or her peers for extraordinary service to the University. The award is named in honor of the late Max Starkey, a 1957 Illinois Wesleyan graduate who was University comptroller from 1957 to 1996.

Bailey, a 1984 graduate of the American College of Technology, earned a degree in computer electronics. Before joining the staff of Illinois Wesleyan’s Information Technology Department in 1998, Bailey was a service manager for Thorn Services International and for STL Office Solutions, both in Bloomington. He was a certified Novell administrator for The Pantagraph, and helped custom build their computer system. Bailey also worked for Watts Copy Systems in Springfield, Ill., and for Tandy Electronics in Downers Grove, Ill.

He is a U.S. Navy veteran, formerly stationed on the U.S.S. Sylvania.

In one of his nominations for the award, a colleague declared his “enthusiasm and outstanding computer knowledge keeps our campus running.”

The banquet recognized other members of the Illinois Wesleyan community for their work throughout the year and included a special tribute to employees who celebrated milestone anniversaries in five-year increments.

The University also honored retiring employees: Bruce Criley (Biology), Emmalyn Dickinson (Advancement), Doran French (Psychology), Judy Huff (Natural Sciences), Sheila Jesek-Hale (School of Nursing), Jeanne Johnson (Information Technology), Mose Mowery (Printing Services), Lynn Nichelson (Financial Aid), Cherrie Smyth (Admissions).

Others recognized for their anniversaries were:

45th Year: Dennis Bridges (Physical Education);

40th Year: Roger Schnaitter (Associate Provost);

35th Year: J. Robert Hippensteele (Biology), Robert Leekley (Economics), Paul Schley (Admissions);

30th Year: Miles Bair (School of Art), Steven Eggleston (School of Music), Samuel Embry (Physical Plant), George Fish (Physical Plant), George Guminski (Security), Sharie Metcalfe (School of Nursing), Benjamin Rhodes (Advancement), James Sikora (Sociology and Anthropology), Kevin Strandberg (School of Art), Carl Teichman (President's Office);

25th Year: C. Lynn DeVore (English), Arthur Killian (Physical Plant);

20th Year: Marina Balina (Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures), Christopher Callahan (Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures), Lisa Caughron (Information Technology), Dale Conover (Physical Plant), Michele Darnell (Admissions), Laura Dolan (School of Music), Gordon Horwitz (History), Sandra Kelch (Physical Plant), Sheri Marley (School of Theatre Arts), Stephen Novel (Physical Plant), Michael Seeborg (Economics), William Short (Information Technology), Susan Sombeck (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services), Kelly Ullom (School of Theatre Arts), Gregory Whitwood (Physical Plant);

15th Year: Jeanna Brown (Physical Plant), Jenny Hand (Mellon Teaching Center), William Kauth (Physical Education), Charles Kilpatrick (Physical Plant), David Marvin (Business Administration), Carolyn Nadeau (Hispanic Studies), Tari Renner (Political Science), Robert Schultz (History);

10th Year: Sharon Albee (Registrar), Melinda Baur (Chemistry), Patty Burns (Security), Walter Carter (Physical Plant), Kevin Clark (Dean of Students), Paul Clark (Security), R. Kent Cook (School of Music), Kandi Currie (Security), Daniel Dietsch (Physical Plant), Kathryn Filipiak (Financial Aid), Roselia Garcia (Physical Plant), Rebecca Gearhart (Sociology and Anthropology), Nina Gordon (School of Music), James Hardesty (Physical Plant), Tony Heaton (The Ames Library), Carrie Hymer (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services), Christina Isabelli (Hispanic Studies), Abigail Jahiel (Political Science), Regina Linsalata (Multiple Programs), Susan Milligan (President's Office), Suzanne Noonan (Career Center), Ilaria Ossella-Durbal (Economics), Elsa Rodriguez (Physical Plant), Marcia Thomas (The Ames Library), Armella Thompson (School of Theatre Arts), Hans-Joerg Tiede (Mathematics/Computer Science), Loni Walker (Biology), Sarah Wessel (The Ames Library), Joseph Williams (Psychology);

5th Year: Heidi Acton (Office of Residential Life), Mary Anderson (Physical Plant), Cheri Armstrong (Dean of Students), Kira Banks (Psychology), Brandon Christol (Admissions), Stephanie Davis-Kahl (The Ames Library), Nora Espino Reyes (Physical Plant), Rebekah Fehr (Mellon Teaching Center), Rita Ganser (The Ames Library), Edilia Garcia (Physical Plant), Patricia Henderson (Provost and Dean of Faculty), David Kistner (Counseling Services), Daniel Klotzbach (Business Office), Seung-Hwan Lee (Mathematics/Computer Science), Leah Nillas (Educational Studies), Elisabeta Pana (Business Administration), Adriana Ponce (School of Music), Jean Pretz (Psychology), Matthew Pursell (History), Gayle Sauer (Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures), Bobbie Silk (English), Kevin Sullivan (Religion), Constance Vail (Advancement Office) and President Richard F. Wilson.

Contact: Rachel Hatch, (309) 556-3960