Students and Faculty Showcase Skills in Faculty Choreographed Dance Concert

March 30, 2009

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – The Illinois Wesleyan University School of Theatre Arts will present the Faculty Choreographed Dance Concert, Constructive Interference, which will feature dances by four faculty members and one piece by a visiting choreographer, Stephanie Pizzo. The performances will run Tuesday, April 7 through Friday, April 10 at 8 p.m., and Saturday, April 11 at 2 p.m. in McPherson Theatre (2 Ames Plaza East, Bloomington).

The five pieces vary in style and music as they span several genres of dance including modern and ballet. The choreographers themselves come from diverse and experienced backgrounds to put together a show that is a change of pace for the theatre department from its normal play schedule. 

Visiting choreographer, Pizzo, is the Associate Artistic Director of Eisenhower Dance Ensemble in Michigan. She has danced with the Michigan Ballet Theatre as a corps and principal dancer, the Oakland Dance Theatre and the Harbinger Dance Company. Her modern inspired piece in the concert will feature six Illinois Wesleyan students.

Other choreographers for the concert include, Sheri Marley, adjunct instructor in theatre arts; Greg Merriman, instructor of ballet; Jessica Riss, adjunct faculty in theatre arts, and Darby Wilde; adjunct faculty in theatre arts. Wilde, who choreographed both a trio and a duet for the show, also served as the overall director. This is Wilde’s first year at Illinois Wesleyan.


Ticket sales will begin Monday, March 30. Prices are $10 for Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday performances, and $12 for Friday and Saturday performances. All shows are $1 for students with a valid I.D. Senior citizens 65 and older will receive a $1 discount on the ticket price. For additional information or to reserve tickets in advance, call the McPherson Theatre box office at (309) 556-3232.

Dancers:  Evan Kasprzak, Miranda Keifer, Sami Skelton, Neil Stratman, Rebecca Tong, Katie Whalley, Amy Bannon, Maia Diaz, Taylor Kofron, Seth Reid, David Ruben, Amy Grigoletti, Thomas Jung, Nick Reinhart, Marai Roth, Christina Salazar, Todd Salerno, Katelyn Schmidt, Christine Wille, Chris Feiereisen, Amanda Hentsch, Alix Ozaki, Lauren Romano, Julie Tucker, Britta Whittenberg, Elizabeth Schwarzrock

Production Team: Darby Wilde (Director & Choreographer), Jean MacFarland Kerr (Choreographer), Sheri Marley (Choreographer), Greg Merriman (Choreographer), Jessica Riss (Choreographer), Stephanie Pizzo (Choreographer), Marcia K. McDonald (Costume Designer), Kari Beth Rust (Costume Designer), Katie Butson (Costume Designer), Devin Clancy (Costume Designer), Bridget Gavlin (Costume Designer), Nick Bursoni (Costume & Lighting Designer), Mike Oesch (Lighting Designer), Becky Griffith (Lighting Designer), Adam Groeninger (Lighting Designer), Ryan Simpson (Sound Design), Evan Kasprzak (Sound Design), Armie Thompson (Technical Director), Kyle Urquhart (Stage Manager)

Contact: Kimberly Stabosz ‘09 (309) 556-3181