Of Thee I Sing

The chorus performs in an Atlantic City boardwalk setting in the musical Of Thee I Sing .

Of Thee I Sing Celebrates 60 Years of Musicals at Illinois Wesleyan

November 12, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University’s School of Theatre Arts will present the satirical musical Of Thee I Sing at 8 p.m. from Tuesday, Nov. 18 through Saturday, Nov. 22 and 2 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 23 in the McPherson Theatre (2 Ames Plaza East, Bloomington).  This year’s production commemorates both the 60th anniversary of musicals at Illinois Wesleyan and the first Of Thee I Sing performance in 1948.

Set during an election year in the 1930s, Of Thee I Sing tells the story of John P. Wintergreen, a bachelor campaigning to become United States president. To market his slogan, “Let’s Put Love in the White House,” Wintergreen sponsors a beauty contest for women across the country. However, he strays from his promise to marry the winner when he falls for Mary Turner, a pageant secretary.

George and Ira Gershwin’s Of Thee I Sing won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama in 1932. The musical was also made into a book, written by George S. Kaufman and Morrie Ryskind.

Tickets are currently on sale. The Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday performances are $10, and the Friday and Saturday performances are $12. All shows are $1 for students with a valid I.D. Senior citizens 65 and older will receive a $1 discount on ticket price. To reserve tickets or for additional information, contact the McPherson Theatre box office at (309) 556-3232.

Of Thee I Sing

Chris Feiereisen '09 and Maia Diaz '10 play the characters John P. WIntergreen and Mary Turner in the musical Of Thee I Sing.

Cast Members: Alex Pagels (Louis Lippman), Ryan Simpson (Francis X Gilhooley), Kyle Blair (Matthew Fulton), Russell Matthews (Senator Robert E. Lyons), Vince Gargaro (Senator Carver Jones), David Ruben (Alexander Throttlebottom), Chris Feiereisen (John P. Wintergreen), Seth Reid (Jam Jenkins), Allie Beckman (Diana Devereaux), Maia Diaz (Mary Turner), Katie Whalley (Miss Benson), Kevin Schuering (the Chief Justice), Evan Kasprzak (the French Ambassador).

Ensemble: Amanda Hentsch, Kristen Evensen, Sarah Bockel, Katelyn Schmidt, Kelsey Phillips, Marlee Turim, Lauren Romano, Britnee Ruscitti, Julie Tucker, Britta Whittenberg, Steve Aron, Neil Statman, Nicholas Reinhart, Andrew Temkin, Todd Salerno, Alejandro Postigo, Ryan Tipton, Nick Bursoni, Kevin Schuering, Evan Kasprzak.

Production Team: Scott Susong (Director), Erin Daly (Assistant Director), Sandy DeAthos (Musical Director), Sherri Marley (Choreographer), Marcia McDonald (Costume Designer), Gary Echelmeyer (Lighting Designer), Adam Groeniger (Assistant Lighting Designer), Curt Trout (Scenic Designer), Kyle Urquhart (Assistant Scenic Designer), Steve Gonabe (Sound Designer), Carol Hamre (Properties Master), Armie Thompson (Technical Director), Julie Allen (Assistant Technical Director), Kelly Rice (Stage Manager).

Contact: Nicole Travis ’11, (309) 556-3181