IWU to Induct Students into Nursing Honor Society

April 1, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Eight Illinois Wesleyan students will be inducted into the Theta Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, an international nursing honor society.

The induction ceremony will take place on Sunday, April 13 from 2-4 p.m. in Illinois Wesleyan’s Evelyn Chapel (1301 N. Park Street).

Sigma Theta Tau International is the second largest nursing organization and one of the most prestigious in the world, with approximately 120,000 active members. The society has members in over 78 countries and territories and 383 chapter honor societies at over 450 colleges and universities in the United States, Puerto Rica, Canada, South Korea, Taiwan, and Australia. Membership is by invitation only to baccalaureate and graduate nursing student,s who demonstrate excellence in scholarship as well as to community members who demonstrate exceptional achievement in nursing.

The IWU chapter was established in 1983. Students are selected based on academic achievement, contribution to the profession, and on recommendation of chapter members. Student members must a have a 3.0/4.0 grade point average and rank in the upper 35 percentile of their graduating class.

The IWU student inductees are:

Brandon W. Ahlers, class of 2008, of Congerville, Ill.

Ruth Lola Ahove, class of 2009, from Ghana, Africa, currently residing in Bloomington, Ill.

Clare K. Johnson, class of 2009, of Naperville, Ill.

Samantha J. Ketchum, class of 2009, of Springfield, Ill.

Jacqueline R. Lippe, class of 2008, of Homewood, Ill.

Megan E. Mason, class of 2009, of Crystal Lake, Ill.

Jennifer M. Poliwka, class of 2009, of Niles, Ill.

Erica S. Sierszulski, class of 2009, of Inverness, Ill.

For more information please contact Victoria Folse, assistant professor of nursing at vfolse@iwu.edu or (309) 556-3286.

Contact: Allegra Gallian, ’09, (309) 556-3181