Judy Huff

President Richard F. Wilson presents Judy Huff with the Max L. Starkey Service Award.

Huff Wins University Staff Honor

March 27, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Judy Huff, the senior office coordinator for Illinois Wesleyan University’s Center for Natural Sciences, has been named the 2008 winner of the University’s Max L. Starkey Service Award at the 17th annual recognition banquet at Bloomington’s Double Tree Hotel on Wednesday, March 26.

Huff, who has been with Illinois Wesleyan since 1990, helps to support five departments on campus and more than 50 faculty members. She was recognized for tireless dedication and strong work ethic, and is considered a vital resource to both students and faculty members.

The Starkey Award, established in 2001, is presented to a member of the administrative, technical, support, security or physical plant staffs nominated by his or her peers for extraordinary service. The award is named in honor of the late Max Starkey, a 1957 Illinois Wesleyan graduate who was University comptroller from 1957 to 1996.

The banquet recognized members of the IWU community for their work throughout the year and included a special tribute to employees who celebrated milestone anniversaries in five-year increments.

The University also honored retiring employees: Joseph Baptiste (Physical Plant); Mary Bible (Alumni Relations); Susan Brandon (School of Music); Margaret Chapman (Economics Department); Arlene Moldenhauer (The Ames Library); Kathryn Scherck (School of Nursing); Mathew Trickel (Physical Plant); Martha Tyner (School of Music).

Others recognized for their anniversaries were:

45th Year: Mike Vinson (Physical Plant).

35th Year:  Grant Brougher (Publications, Printing & Mailing Services); Norma Criley (Biology); Connie Dennis (School of Nursing).

30th Year: Linda Biehl (Information Technology); C. Lawrence Campbell (School of Music); Donna Hartweg (School of Nursing).

25th Year: Warren Johnson (Physical Plant); Bud Jorgenson (Physical Plant); Marlene Ortman (School of Art).

20th Year: Daniel Bixby (Security); Kenneth Detloff (Physical Plant); John Dolan (Security); Linda Farquharson (School of Music); Angel Garcia (Physical Plant); Ann Harding (Office of Development); Michael Limacher (Ames Library); Sherri McElroy (School of Art); Patra Noonan (Social Sciences); James Plath (English); Stewart Salowitz (University Communications); W. Michael Weis (History); Lora Wey (Office of Development).

15th Year: Homer Calhoun (Physical Plant); Pete Kroutil (Physical Plant); Nancy Sultan (MCLL); Suzanne Wilson (Ames Library).

10th Year: Roy Bailey (Information Technology); Katherine Bradley (Dean of Students); Douglas Carius (Physical Plant); Matthew Damschroder (Office of Residential Life); Hiroko Furo (MCLL); Pamla Gaddis (Physical Plant); Robert Geraty (Admissions); Deborah Gorden (Natural Sciences); Joel Haefner (Mellon Teaching Center); Amy Jacobi (Educational Studies); Jeffrey Mavros (Office of Development); Sherry McClarty (Office of Development); Marcia McDonald (School of Theatre Arts); Rory McGuire (Physical Plant); Carren Moham (School of Music); Neal Olomon (Publications, Printing & Mailing Services); Mario Pelusi (School of Music); Jennifer Shaughnessy (Admissions); Greg Shaw (Political Science); Scott Sheridan (MCLL); Mia Smith (Physical Education); Pamela Taylor (Publications, Printing & Mailing Services); Martha Tyner (School of Music).

5th Year: Terrance Bond (Office of Residential Life); Maureen Bradley (International Office); Mark Criley (Philosophy); Arleta deDianous (School of Nursing); Ranardo Harries (Physical Plant); Kathleen House (Chemistry); Sobeira Latorre (Hispanic Studies); Meg Miner (Ames Library); Jason Moralee (History); Andrea Morris (Ames Library); Jin Park (Dept. of Business Administration); Stephen Press (School of Music); Sarah Riehl (Dept. of Business Administration); Carrie Trimble (Dept. of Business Administration); Shannon Wisecup (Admissions); Weiyu Zhu (Mathematics/Computer Science).

Contact: Rachel Hatch, (309) 556-3960