Alisons House
Pulitzer-Prize Winning Play to be Performed at McPherson Theatre

January 25, 2007 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. -- Illinois Wesleyan's School of Theatre Arts will present Susan Glaspell's 1931 Pulitzer Prize winner for drama, Alison's House, on Tuesday, Jan. 30 through Saturday, Feb. 3 at 8 p.m. and on Sunday, Feb. 4 at 2 p.m. in McPherson Theatre (2 Ames Plaza East, Bloomington).

Eighteen years after the death of Alison Stanhope, a poet much like twentieth-century author Emily Dickenson, the play begins as Alison's family gathers in her house to divide the family estate.  It is then that the family members find over 1800 poems that Alison had written in her lifetime, though only ten had been published.  Set on the last day of the 19th century, the family gathering stirs up secrets and conflict between the older and younger generations in the household.

Alison's House features an all-student design team which includes four members of the School of Theatre Arts' senior class: Megan Henderson as the scenic designer, Kelley Britt Shaw as the costume designer, Rob Carroll as the lighting designer and Brian Kowalski as the sound designer.

Tickets for the show are $6 for general admittance for the Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday performances and $8 for the Friday and Saturday performances.  There is a $1 discount for seniors (65+) for all performances.  Tickets for any performance with a valid student I.D. are $1.  For additional information or to order tickets, call the McPherson Theatre Box Office at (309) 556-3232.

Cast Members: Bry Parham (Ann Leslie), Julia Vanderveen (Jennie), Kyle Blair (Richard Knowles), Tim Dunn (Ted Stanhope), Lauren Summers (Louise), Justin Banta (Father Stanhope), Tony Lopez (Eben), Stephanie Grady (Elsa), Loren Jones (Miss Agatha), Brad Smoak (Hodges), Carol Rose (Mrs. Hodges).

Production Team: Sara Freeman (Director), Megan Henderson (Scenic Designer), Kelly Britt Shaw (Costume Designer), Rob Carroll (Lighting Designer), Brian Kowalski (Sound Designer), Katie King (Stage Manager), Diane Teng (Asst. Stage Manager), Anjie Swidergal (Asst. Stage Manager), Anna Slevin (Asst. Costume Designer), Amanda Clayton (Asst. Costume Designer), Jesse Gaffney (Technical Director), Katie Benjamin (Property Master), Rachel Brown (Hair and Makeup Designer), Hannah Kramer (Asst. Hair and Makeup Designer), Wardrobe Crew Head (Amanda Hentsch), Seth Reid (House Manager).

 Contact: Taylar Kuzniar, (309) 556-3181