Eight Students Awarded at ICPA Convention

February 28, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - Eight Illinois Wesleyan University students received awards at the Illinois College Press Association (ICPA) convention, which took place Feb. 16 and 17.  All students have worked extensively on The Argus, IWU's student newspaper.  The awards, selected by professional journalists in Illinois, are as follows:

First Place, News Photo: Don Denton, '06

First Place, Headline Writing: Rebecca Welzenbach, '07

First Place, Sports Feature: Jon Yee, '07

Second Place, Editorial Cartoon: Tyler Smith, '06

Third Place, Editorial: Amelia Benner, '09

Honorable Mention, News Photo: Tyler Smith, '06

Honorable Mention, Sports Photo: Andy Nelson, '08

Honorable Mention, Feature Photo: Sarah Zeller, '07

Honorable Mention, Sports Column: Tyler Smith, '06

Honorable Mention, Column (excluding sports): Emma Wear, '07

Awards are divided into four categories: Open categories, in which students compete against all newspapers; dailies; non-dailies at institutions with more than 4,000 students; and non-dailies at institutions with less than 4,000 students, in which IWU is included.

This year's conference keynote speakers were Greg Kot, music critic for the Chicago Tribune, and Jim DeRogatis, music critic for the Chicago Sun-Times. Other activities included sessions, round-table discussions, a job fair and a photography contest titled "Shoot Chicago," for which photographers spent a part of their day taking photographs of Chicago and had their work judged by the Tribune's photo staff for possible publication in the newspaper.

James Plath, professor of English and faculty advisor to The Argus, is proud of the student achievements: "The competition continues to get tougher every year, because more schools are joining ICPA," he said.  "Although they're really just student amateurs, college journalists are held to the same standards as professionals."

IWU students in attendance at the convention included former Editor-in-Chief Sarah Zeller, former Managing Editor Rebecca Welzenbach, Editor-in-Chief Amelia Benner, Managing Editor Chelsea Schafer, Features Editor Drew Barringer, and Photo Editor Andy Nelson.

Zeller, a senior English writing and Spanish double major and women studies minor, said, "The ICPA convention is always an excellent opportunity to learn more about journalism.  It's the kind of first-hand information you can't get anywhere else."

The Argus editorial board meets annually to select ICPA submissions from the last year of work. ICPA membership is open to all four-year colleges in the state of Illinois.  Member schools may nominate their journalists for awards in 29 different categories each year and are eligible to have members of their staffs attend the convention.

For additional information, contact Plath at jplath@iwu.edu.

  Contact: Amanda ReCupido, (309) 556-3181