Student Senate Announces Annual Student, Professor Awards

April 25, 2007

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. – Illinois Wesleyan University’s Student Senate recently announced the winners of its three annual awards: Senator of the Year, Professor of the Year, and the Minor Myers, jr. Student Senate Scholarship, which is named after the University’s late former president.

Colin Zepeda, a senior biology major from Winfield, Ill., was selected by his fellow senators as Senator of the Year.  The senate representative for the Council on Latin American Student Enrichment (CLASE), Zepeda has been actively involved with the organization for four years, and has served on a number of important committees, including the Financial Advisory Board, the Strategic Planning Committee, the Resolutions Committee and the Constitutional Revisions Committee.

Professor of the Year for 2007 is Greg Shaw, associate professor of political science.  Nominated along with four of his colleagues by the senate, Shaw was elected by IWU students, who had the opportunity to cast their votes online over the course of three days.  The other nominees were: Dave Bollivar, associate professor of biology; Mark Criley, visiting instructor of philosophy; Paul Bushnell, professor of history and Tian-Xo He, professor of mathematics. 

Marie Huey, a first-year English writing major, was chosen from among 23 applicants as this year’s recipient of the Minor Myers, jr. scholarship.  The Apple Valley, Minn., native was selected by a committee of student senators based on her resume and answers to three essay questions, which demonstrated her commitment to IWU and the values of a liberal arts education.  The award is for $525 and application is open to any student with a GPA of at least 3.0 who will be attending IWU in the following academic year.

Contact: Rebecca Welzenbach, (309) 556-3181