Habitat Award

Pictured accepting the award from Rosalynn Carter (at far right) are, from left: Jon Flaherty '07; Andy Morrison, faculty advisor for the IWU campus chapter and Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics; Melissa Myers '09, president of the IWU chapter; and Bruce Williams, executive director of Habitat for Humanity of McLean County.

IWU, ISU Habitat For Humanity Chapter Receives Award

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - Illinois Wesleyan and Illinois State Universities' joint student chapter of Habitat for Humanity (Habitat for Humanity), along with the McLean County chapter, received a second-place Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Partnership Award for Campus-Community Collaboration.  The winner was announced in a ceremony held at Chicago's Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Hotel on Oct. 16, 2006.

Former First Lady Rosalynn Carter presented a certificate and check for $7,000, to be shared between the campuses and their community partner.  Southern Illinois University‚ÄĒCarbondale and the Women's Center in Carbondale received $15,000 as the first-place winner, and Dominican University and San Miguel Schools Chicago received $5,000 for third place.

The award, created in 2000 by the Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter Partnership Foundation, honors universities and community groups that collaborate to better their communities.  By recognizing the best and most effective programs, the award is intended to provide support and funding for campus-community service partnerships.  The award also recognizes the efforts of faculty members who participate in community service.

The finalists were selected from 12 campus-community partnerships across the state by a committee composed of representatives from higher education, business, government organizations and community groups throughout the United States. 

Illinois Wesleyan and Illinois State combined their Habitat for Humanity chapters in 1993. In collaboration with McLean County's Habitat for Humanity, the joint student chapter, which has more than 400 members, has completed 11 homes, one each year since 1995.  Students also support Habitat for Humanity behind the scenes with planning and funding, raising $38,500 to build the most recent home over the 2005-06 academic year.  Low-income families purchase the completed homes at an affordable price and pay an interest-free mortgage, which goes to support the building of other homes.

The award presentation ceremony was part of the Illinois Campus Compact 20th anniversary awards gala.  Campus Compact, an independent, nonprofit association "under the umbrella" of Brown University, is the only national coalition dedicated to promoting campus and community engagement through civic service.  The organization consists of over 1,000 college and university presidents, who represent more than five million students dedicated to promoting the combination of service and learning in higher education.

For additional information about local Habitat for Humanity efforts, see www.habitatmclean.org. To learn more about the Carter Partnership Foundation and the associated award, see www.jrcpf.org.  In order to register for the Campus Compact 20th anniversary event or read more about that coalition, visit www.campuscompact.org .

Contact: Rebecca Welzenbach, (309) 556-3181