IWU French Horn and Tuba Ensembles to Perform

February 10, 2006

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - The Illinois Wesleyan University School of Music will host a French Horn Ensemble concert at 3 p.m. and a Tuba Ensemble concert at 5 p.m. on Feb. 26 in the Westbrook Auditorium of Presser Hall (1210 North Park Street, Bloomington).

The French Horn Ensemble concert will consist of eight pieces for various numbers of horns as well as accompanying instruments.  Christine Worthing, visiting assistant professor of music, will direct the horn ensemble and play along with students for one piece.

On French horn will be Daniel Monge, a senior orchestral instruments major; Kevin O'Keefe, a senior music education major; Paul Meiste, a junior music education major; Marta Haalboom, a junior music education major; Jessica Seils, a sophomore music education major; Bridget Wall, a sophomore biology major; Liesl Miller, a sophomore voice major; Kathleen Mitchell, a sophomore music education major; Laura Bales, a sophomore business major; Jessica Pearce, a freshman music major; and Margaret Kane, a freshman, major undecided.  Also playing will be Professor Sean Parsons, adjunct instructor in music, on piano; Jim Klopfleisch, a junior composition major, on bass; and Brian Baxter, a junior composition major, on drums.

Four groups will perform during the Tuba Ensemble concert including a tuba trio, a trombone choir, a tuba quartet, and the full tuba ensemble.  Edward Risinger, adjunct instructor in music, will direct the ensemble during the concert.  Thomas Streeter, professor of brass instruments and theory, will direct the trombone portion of the concert.

On tuba will be John Brotherton, a freshman English writing major; Josh Biere, a junior music education major; James McCauley, a freshman music education major; and Don Killinger, a freshman music major.  Euphonium performers will be Emily Ergang, a senior history major; Steve Cherney, a junior biology major; David Longawa, a freshman chemistry major; and Katherine Carl, a sophomore math major.  Trombone players will include Phil Arquette, a senior computer science major; Nathan Hahn, a junior music major; Aaron Karch, a sophomore music education major; Aaron Hays, a sophomore composition major; Lindsay Gross, a sophomore environmental studies major; and Joseph Schmidt, a junior music education major.

For more information, contact the IWU School of Music office at (309) 556-3061.

Contact: Kay Mitchell, (309) 556-3181