In this scene from Farther West, May, a prostitute played by Liz Olson '05, moves to town and meets characters played by Nettie-Brittany Morgan "05 and Violet-Taylor Entwistle '05.
IWU Goes Farther West

January 25, 2005

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - Illinois Wesleyan University's Lab Theatre will present Farther West, a play by John Murrell, from February 1 through February 6 in the E. Melba Johnson Kirkpatrick Laboratory Theatre.

Under the direction of Illinois Wesleyan Associate Professor of Theatre Arts Sandra Lindberg, the production is the world premiere of a revision of the play by its author.

In addition to 8 p.m. curtains on Tuesday, Feb.1, through Saturday, Feb. 5, there be a matinee on Sunday, Feb 6, at 2:00 p.m. in the theatre, which is located at 304 E. Graham St., Bloomington.

Tickets are $2 general admission, $1 with a valid student I.D., and can be purchased through the School of Theatre Arts box office at (309) 556-3232.

Farther West, which the Ontario Arts Council awarded the Chalmers Best Canadian Play, is the story of a young prostitute, May, living in the back country of 19th century Canada. Throughout the play May is stalked by an increasingly violent sheriff named Ross. She keeps escaping him, all the while moving farther and farther west. As she does so, she forms a family-like bond with the people she meets along the way.

Murrell's plays have been translated into 15 different languages and have been performed in more than 30 countries around the world. In 1998, the National Theatre School of Canada presented him with the Gascon-Thomas Award in recognition of an outstanding lifetime of service to arts education in Canada. In 2002 Murrell received the Walter Carsen Prize for Excellency in the Performing Arts, as well as the Alberta Order of Excellence. In 2003 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada.

The Cast Members will include: Zach Bosteel (Shepard), Rob Carroll (Ross), Peter Durkin (Raglan), Taylor Entwistle (Violet), Matt Erickson (Seward), Nolan Kennedy (Hanks), Brittany Morgan (Nettie), Liz Olson (May), Rachel Price (Lilly), and Nick Simon (Babcock).

The Production Crew will include: Eric Barnes (Wardrobe Head), Ali Carney (Properties), Patrick Dunham (Asst. Technical Director), Patrick Dunham (Master Carpenter), Loren Jones (Asst. Stage Manager), Mel Keiser (Hair/Make-up Designer), Jean MacFarland Kerr (Fight Choreographer), Adam Lillibridge (Scenic Designer), Sandra Lindberg (Director), Dale Marshall (Lighting Designer), Marcia McDonald (Costume Designer), Brittany Morgan (Fight Captain), Justin Murphy (Sound Designer), Brianna North (Asst. Costume Designer), Jessica Pink (Stage Manager), Armie Thompson (Technical Director), Curtis Trout (Asst. Scenic Designer), Curtis Trout (Asst. Properties), and Sarah Ziebart (Asst. Costume Designer).

Contact: Leslie Boelter (309) 556-3181