Illinois Wesleyan President Richard F. Wilson, left, presents the 2005 Max L. Starkey Service Award to Warren Johnson, assistant manager of maintenance services.
Warren Johnson Honored as Winner of Max L. Starkey Award at Illinois Wesleyan

March 31, 2005

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — Warren Johnson, assistant manager of maintenance services at Illinois Wesleyan, was named the 2005 winner of the University's Max L. Starkey Service Award at the 14th annual recognition banquet at the Holiday Inn in Normal Wednesday night (3/30).

The banquet recognized members of the University community for their work throughout the year and included a special tribute to employees who celebrated milestone anniversaries in five-year increments.

The Starkey award was established in 2001 and is named in honor of the late Max Starkey, IWU class of 1957 and university comptroller from 1957-1996. It is presented to a member of the administrative, technical, support, security or physical plant staffs nominated by his or her peers for extraordinary service.

Johnson joined the University in 1983 as a custodian and was promoted to mechanic and then assistant maintenance foreman before being elevated to his current position in 1991.

In addition to Johnson, three retiring employees were recognized: Dolores Helm, director of the Arnold Health Service; Elizabeth Hornbrook, office coordinator for Modern and Classical Literature and Language and Hispanic Studies; and Agnes Huonker, office coordinator in admissions.

Two members of the faculty celebrated their 35th anniversaries with the University: Robert Bray (English) and Michael Young (History).

Others recognized for their anniversaries were:

30th Year: Jonathan Dey (Biology Department); Tom Moore (Physical Plant); Sandi Myers (Office of Residential Life); David Shiers (Physical Plant); Debbie Smyth (Admissions Office)

25th Year: Mary Ann Bushman (English Department); Robert Delvin (The Ames Library); Robert Dillon (Physical Plant); Timothy Garvey (School of Art); Jerry Pope (Admissions Office); Cherrie Smyth (Admissions Office); Michael Weber (Physical Plant)

20th Year: Judy Ekstam (Physical Plant); Paul Edwards (Physical Plant); Robert Frank (Physical Plant); Ruth Ann Friedberg (Business Administration Department); Lawney Gruen (Physical Plant); Elizabeth Hornbrook (Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures ); Department and Hispanic Studies Department); Jay Langhoff (Physical Plant); Mose Mowery (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services); Christopher Prendergast (Sociology and Anthropology Department); Stephanie N. Ridgeway (Physical Plant); Scott Seibring (Financial Aid Office)

15th Year: Teodora Amoloza (Sociology and Anthropology Department); Gaye Bailey (Office of the Registrar); Mary J. Bible (Development Office); Charlotte Brown (Philosophy Department); James D. Dougan (Psychology Department); Katherine Dyson (Physical Plant); David Gentry (Security Department); Judy Huff (Natural Science Office); Jean MacFarland Kerr (School of Theatre Arts); Timothy McMullen (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services); Mauricio Parra (Hispanic Studies Department); Melissa D. Smock (Wellness Program); Curtis C. Trout (School of Theatre Arts); William J. Walsh (Business Administration Department)

10th Year: Susan Bassi (Office of the President); Frank Boyd (Political Science Department); Jerel H. Braun (Physical Plant); Durward E. Cawley (Physical Plant); Zahia Drici (Mathematics and Computer Science Department); Teresa R. Fish (Physical Education Department); Joan Friedman (Business Administration Department); Melvin E. Gordon (Publications, Printing and Mailing Services); Lorrie Gummere (Development Office); R. Warren Kistner (Career Center); Linda J. Kunce (Psychology Department); Robin L. Leavitt (Educational Studies Department); Kathleen Montgomery (Political Science Department); Gloria Redinger (The Ames Library); Ronald J. Roth (Physical Plant); Ronald L. Rousey (Physical Plant); Gerry H. Schroeder (Physical Plant); Sheryl Soukup (Biology Department); Daniel Terkla (English Department); Mathew Trickel (Physical Plant); Gary H. Wilcoxson (Physical Plant); David Willis (Business Administration Department)

5th Year: Alba Alvarado (Physical Plant); Margaret Anderson (Admissions Office); Micah L. Brandt (Physical Plant); Vernon Scott Campbell (Physical Plant); William Carney (University Bookstore); Kathryn B. Curl (Financial Aid Office); Kelly N. Fairley (Financial Aid Office); William Jaeckle (Biology Department); Christopher Kawakita (Admissions Office); Rick Lindquist (Information Technology ); Kevin Long (University Bookstore); Diego Mendez-Carbajo (Economics Department); Laura J. Moore (Chemistry Department); William E. Morris (Philosophy Department ); William A. Munro (Political Science Department); Jeanne Oost (School of Theatre Arts); Sara Powell (Development Office); Crystal M. Price (Admissions Office); Adam L. Rader (Physical Plant); Patricia Rosenbaum (Office of the Dean of Students); Rozanne Stevens (Business Office); Christopher Stube (Information Technology); Thaddeus D. Sutter (University Bookstore); Anke Voss (The Ames Library); Patricia Zehr (Information Technology)