Illinois Wesleyan
Biology

Faculty

The biology faculty are both scholars and teachers, devoted to teaching excellence and to making important contributions to our individual disciplines through fieldwork, research, and writing. Faculty research interests include, environmental sustainability, ecology, genetics, invertebrate form and function, animal developmental biology, cellular function and fate, animal physiology, and much more. We are committed to undergraduate education and teach everything from first-year gateway courses to advanced courses.

Image of Richard Alvey
Richard Alvey

Assistant Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Diversity of viruses in freshwater environments

Contact: (309) 556-3186ralvey@iwu.edu

Image of David Bollivar
David Bollivar

Miner Linnaeus Sherff Endowed Professor of Botany

Research Interests: Molecular biology and biochemistry of tetrapyrrole biosynthesis

Contact: (309) 556-3677dbolliva@iwu.edu

Image of Loralyn Cozy
Loralyn Cozy

Associate Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Regulation of cell division during terminal differentiation

Contact: (309) 556-3057lcozy@iwu.edu

Image of R. Given Harper
R. Given Harper

George C. and Ella Beach Lewis Endowed Chair of Biology

Research Interests: Avian evolutionary ecology

Contact: (309) 556-3056gharper@iwu.edu

Image of Libby Haywood
Libby Haywood

Instructional Professor 

Research Interests: Development of Bacterial Toxin-Inspired Drug Delivery (BTIDD) vehicles

Contact: (309) 556- 3870ehaywood@iwu.edu

Image of William Jaeckle
William Jaeckle

Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Larval life history, development, physiology, and ecology

Contact: (309) 556-1063wjaeckle@iwu.edu

Image of Edgar Lehr
Edgar Lehr

Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Biodiversity of amphibians and reptiles in the neotropics (Peru) and in Africa (Rwanda)

Contact: (309) 556-3399elehr@iwu.edu

Image of Tyler Schwend
Tyler Schwend

Assistant Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Molecular regulation of corneal nerves during eye development

Contact: (309) 556-3149tschwend@iwu.edu

Image of Sheryl Soukup
Sheryl Soukup

Laboratory Coordinator for Human Biology (Biology 107 and 108)

Contact: (309) 556-3292ssoukup@iwu.edu

Image of Loni Walker
Loni Walker

Associate Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Growth and developmental processes in plants

Contact: (309) 556-3965lwalker@iwu.edu

Image of Brian Walter
Brian Walter

Associate Professor of Biology

Research Interests: Cell and structural developmental biology

Contact: (309) 556-3041bwalter@iwu.edu



Biology News