Academic Awards and Scholarships

Various benefactors have made financial contributions to Illinois Wesleyan University for the purpose of recognizing those nursing students who achieved a high level of excellence. These awards are:

  • The Sara M. Stevenson Award - awarded to a first year student
  • The Frances D. Alikonis Award - awarded to a second year student
  • The Patricia Giese Award - awarded to a third year student
  • The Mary D. Shanks Award - awarded to a third year student
  • The Alumnae Association of the Brokaw Hospital for Nurses Award - awarded to a third year student
  • The Caroline F. Rupert Award - awarded to the outstanding graduating fourth year student
  • The Donna L. Hartweg Endowed Student Leadership Award - awarded to a fourth year student

Eligible students apply for these awards at the beginning of the spring semester. In order to be eligible for an award a student must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.25, and a nursing GPA of at least 3.00 for second, third, and fourth year students. The cumulative GPA requirements for the Alumnae Association of Brokaw Hospital are slightly lower. Only those students who apply are considered for the awards. Announcements regarding application deadlines are made each year by nursing faculty. Application forms are available in the School of Nursing office. Students applying for these awards are asked to submit a one page essay describing the following:

  • Involvement in University functions and activities
  • Activities that contribute to professional growth
  • Nursing achievement (for second, third, and fourth year awards)
  • Personal and academic qualifications (including financial need if applicable to the award)

There are a number of endowed nursing scholarships for students receiving Financial Aid from the University. These are awarded periodically based on varying criteria. Two such scholarships are:

  • The Finfgeld Family Scholarship
  • The Deloris Helsley-Ascher, R.N., School of Nursing Scholarship

The Director of the School of Nursing works closely with the Director of Financial Aid and the Student Affairs Committee of the School of Nursing to select qualified recipients.