Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society

The purposes of this organization are to: recognize superior achievement, development of leadership qualities,  foster high professional standards, encourage creative work, and strengthen commitment to the ideals and purposes of the profession. Learn more at

2024 Theta Pi


 Theta Pi Chapter Members Inducted on April 14, 2024:

Class of 2025: Alexa Anders, Megan Barrameda, Spencer Fulton, Natalie Heaton, Imani Horton, Abigail Morris, Jovan Perez, Tessa Preheim, Grace Spader

Class of 2024: Anna Nelson

Sigma Theta Tau International membership is extended to undergraduate and graduate students as well as outstanding community leaders who meet the eligibility requirements. Student candidates shall have demonstrated superior academic achievement, academic integrity and professional leadership potential.

Students who have completed at least one-half of the required nursing core curriculum and have demonstrated outstanding ability in nursing are eligible for membership. Students are invited to join in the spring semester on the basis of academic achievement within the following parameters:

  1. Third Year Students- a cumulative GPA of 3.0 following the fall semester;
  2. Fourth Year Students - a cumulative GPA of 3.0 following the fall semester; and
  3. Rank not lower than the highest 35% of the class.

Students with a record of academic dishonesty will not be considered. Exceptions may be made at the discretion of the chapter’s governance committee following the guidelines adopted by the International Board of Directors.

Community Leaders:
A nurse leader, who is a registered nurse, legally recognized to practice in his/her country with a minimum of a baccalaureate degree or the equivalent in any field, and who has demonstrated achievement in nursing, shall be eligible for membership

Honorary Members:
An honorary member is any person who is not eligible for regular membership in Sigma Theta Tau International, but who has gained national and/or international recognition in the field of nursing or in any field contributing to nursing.

President: Dr. Brenda Drury (2022 - 2024) (

Vice-President / President-Elect: Dr. Wendy Kooken (2024 - 2026) (

Treasurer: Stephanie Moore (2021 - 2023) (

Secretary: Rachel Timlin (2022 - 2024) (

Governance Committee:

Counselor / Chair: Dr. Noel Kerr (2021 - 2023) (

Dr. Monica Hall (2022 - 2024)

Position Open

Leadership Succession Committee:

Dr. Peggy Jacobs, Chair (2021 - 2023) (

Amanda Kemp (2021 - 2023)

Holly Ng (2021 - 2023)

Please contact Dr. Peggy Jacobs if you are interested in serving in a Leadership position within the Theta Pi Chapter!

You are welcome to contact any member of the Theta Pi Executive Board or Committee Chairs using their e-mail address.

More information is also available from Sigma Theta Tau International at

Faculty of the IWU School of Nursing looked into forming an IWU Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) as a way to recognize and foster the outstanding achievement of nursing students, and nurses at Illinois Wesleyan University (IWU) and in the community.                                           

  • September 21, 1981: Investigation into forming a Chapter of STTI began, and soon there after STTI recommended an honor society with steering committee be formed.
  • May 1, 1983: The first members of the STTI Honor Society of Nursing were inducted (107 members).
  • April 29, 1984: A second induction ceremony was held for 26 new members.
  • May 1984: A charter application was requested from National Sigma Theta Tau Headquarters.
  • April 1986: The Theta Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was formed. Annette Lueckenotte was named President. (A list of the charter members is displayed in Stevenson Hall, Shanks Lounge (School of Nursing Building, IWU Campus).
  • 1987: The Theta Pi Chapter Scholarship and Research Committees were formed.
  • 1996: The Annette Lueckenotte Research Grant and the Charla Renner Student Leadership Intern Program/Award were originated.


Past Presidents of Theta Pi Chapter:

Annette Lueckenotte (1985-1987)
Sharie Metcalfe (1987-1989)
Charla Renner (1989-1991)
Deborah Finfgeld (1991-1993)
Jan Knollenberg (1993-1995)
Laura Koppenhoefer (1995-1997)
Cathy Covertson-Anderson (1997-1999)
Barb McLaughlin-Olson (1999-2001)
Sharie Metcalfe (2001-2003)
Beth Kimmerling (2003-2005)
Shauna Bivens (2005-2007)
Brenda Eden (2007-2009)
Chelsea Yontz-Duke (2009-2011)
Kim Schultz (2011-2014)
Ann Eckhardt (2014-2016)
Noel Kerr (2016-2018)
Ann Eckhardt (2018-2020)
Marita Landreth (2020-2021)
Victoria Folse (2021 - 2023)