Scholarships, Research Grants & Awards

The Theta Pi Chapter Award

The Theta Pi Chapter supports and encourages research and continued education for Theta Pi Chapter members including inductees from Illinois Wesleyan’s School of Nursing, members enrolled in graduate nursing or doctoral programs, or qualified nurses involved in nursing research. The funding is geared toward applicants furthering their education in nursing and/or conducting research to advance knowledge relevant to nursing.

The purpose of the award is to encourage research and support education for nursing students and qualified nurses conducting research and/or obtaining an educational degree in the field of nursing. The grant may be used for educational costs for newly inducted members or research costs for current Theta Pi members.

Click here to download the Theta Pi Chapter Award Guidelines & Application (PDF)

The Charla Renner Student Leadership Intern Award

(This award is not currently being offered)

Awarded annually in the fall, this program/award was named in honor of Charla Renner; a past President of the Theta Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, and a distinguished IWU Associate Professor Emerita. It was presented to her on the 10th anniversary of the Theta Pi Chapter in 1996. 

The purpose of this program is to enhance the leadership skills of new student inductees to Sigma Theta Tau International and to increase student involvement in activities of the Theta Pi Chapter. The Intern receives a monetary award at the Spring Induction Ceremony, upon completion of their assigned project.

Student interns are responsible to:

  • Attend Theta Pi Chapter Board of Directors meetings
  • Develop and complete a project that will benefit the Theta Pi Chapter
  • Write a brief report to be shared with Theta Pi Chapter members reflecting the extent to which he or she was able to meet their goals.

Questions about the application process for the Theta Pi Chapter Award, or The Charla Renner Award may be directed to Claire Kidwell (Leadership Succession Chair) at