New Illinois Wesleyan Trustees Named, Officers Elected

Oct. 16, 2018

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. — Five new members – Rick Hanna ’81, Martha Henderson ’83, Nancy J. Hutson ’71, Colleen L. Kannaday and Dr. Laura Randolph ’92 – have been named to the Illinois Wesleyan University Board of Trustees.

Of the 43 Board members, 10 current members were re-elected, and four new trustees and one new Alumni Association Trustee representative were named. The five new members include:


Rick Hanna
Rick Hanna ’81

Rick Hanna ’81 served as PricewaterhouseCoopers’ Global Automotive Leader from 2010 until his retirement in June of 2017, after several decades of work in the automotive industry.

Throughout his career, Hanna served a number of public and multinational companies, including a Fortune 10 company and two Fortune 50 companies as Global Engagement Partner. Hanna has extensive expertise in the automotive industry having worked with both automakers and suppliers with their U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission reporting matters, preparation of financial statements prepared in accordance with U.S. Generally Accepted Accounting Principles and international accounting standards, and development of international standard governance policies and practices. Hanna earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Illinois Wesleyan.


Martha Henderson
Martha Henderson ’83 

Martha Henderson ’83 has worked as an attorney for numerous Fortune 500 companies, including General Motors and Toyota, throughout her career spanning more than 30 years.

In addition, she has handled complex litigation for public agencies such as Los Angeles’ Airports District and Air Quality Management District. She has worked both independently and as a Managing Partner for several large law firms. Outside her career as an attorney, Henderson has authored and published three novels: Life, Unraveling, Unreasonable Xpectations and Firemen’s Wives. She graduated with honors from Illinois Wesleyan with a bachelor’s degree in business and political science, before earning her Juris Doctor degree from the National University School of Law.


Nancy J. Hutson
Nancy J. Hutson ’71

Nancy J. Hutson ’71 currently serves on the boards of several health and pharmaceutical companies following her extensive career in scientific research.

Hutson joined Pfizer, one of the world's largest pharmaceutical companies, as a research scientist in 1981 after serving as a member of the faculty at the Pennsylvania State University School of Medicine. During her 25 years with the company, she held several research and development (R&D) leadership positions and served as a mentor to many senior women in her field. After retiring from her position as Senior VP of Global R&D and Director of Groton/New London Laboratories, Hutson continues to serve on many pharmaceutical industry boards. Hutson earned a bachelor’s degree in biology from Illinois Wesleyan and a Ph.D. in Physiology and Biochemistry from Vanderbilt University, after which she took part in a National Institutes of Health (NIH) Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Oxford.


Colleen Kannaday
Colleen L. Kannaday

Colleen L. Kannaday is the president of Advocate BroMenn Medical Center, in Normal, Illinois as well as Advocate Eureka Hospital, in Eureka, Illinois.

Prior to joining Advocate, Kannaday served as president of St. Francis Hospital & Health Center in Blue Island, Illinois. She was also Vice President of Operations at St. Eugene Community Hospital in Dillon, South Carolina. She currently serves on the Bloomington-Normal Airport Authority Board, the Community Cancer Center Board and the Illinois State University Foundation Board. She is also the chair for BN Advantage and a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives. Kannaday holds a master’s degree in health care administration from Saint Louis University and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Santa Clara University.


Dr. Laura Randolph
Dr. Laura Randolph ’92

Dr. Laura Randolph ’92 is a board-certified plastic and reconstructive surgeon who has been in practice in the Bloomington-Normal area since 2004.

Her involvement in the local community includes serving on the Easter Seals Central Illinois Chapter President’s Council, the Children’s Discovery Museum Foundation Guild, The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, and The Illinois Heart & Lung Society. In previous years, she has also offered free skin cancer screenings for Illinois Wesleyan students and faculty. Graduating from Illinois Wesleyan with honors in biology, Randolph obtained a doctorate of medicine from the The Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago. Randolph completed her residency in general surgery and her second residency in plastic surgery at Loyola University Medical Center.


Board of Trustees officers that were re-elected for the 2018-19 academic year include: George A. Vinyard ’71, Chair; Willie G. Brown, Vice Chair; Herbert A. Getz ’77, Vice Chair; W. Thomas Lawrence ’80, Vice Chair; Robert E. Field ’67, Treasurer; and Ann Marquis Fisher ’82, Secretary.

Those members re-elected include: Michael A. Clark ’76, Steven J. Dudash ’99, Herbert A. Getz ’77, Michael A. Mason ’80, Stephen L. Ondra ’80, Marc F. Talluto ’94, Byron Tucci ’66, George A. Vinyard ’71, Steven J. Wannemacher ’73, and Jill E. York ’85.