Through the leadership and generosity of Elizabeth Weir, ARC is proud to offer an annual action research fellowship. Weir Fellows work on projects that have been thoughtfully developed using action research strategies.

Fellowship Expectations:

The Fellow will successfully implement an action research project as outlined in the application

The Fellow must submit an operational guide at the end of the semester to encourage sustainability

ARC will meet regularly with the Fellow to provide guidance and support

ARC and the Fellow will make a presentation about the project that is open to the campus and the community

Fellowship Guidelines:

The project must be completed in either the spring semester, May term, or summer 2018

One fellowship will be granted in 2018

The Weir Fellowship is valued at up to $1200

The Fellow may use the funds as a stipend or for project expenses

All IWU students registered in spring 2018 are eligible
Students may apply individually or in small groups
Prior recipients of the fellowship are not eligible to apply again
International students and graduating seniors are eligible to apply

Applications: The application for the Weir Fellowship is a 500 word essay. Please use this google form to apply

January 29, 2018       Open for applications
February 14, 2018     Application due by 5pm
February 19, 2018
    All applicants notified of status of application

Fellowship will be selected by a panel of IWU faculty and staff based based upon the following criteria:
Overall quality of the application
Use of community-based action research methodology
Confidence in the ability of the fellow to execute the project
Potential for the project to forge and sustain collaborative efforts

2017 Weir Fellow: Hannah Gallee '17

2016 (no Weir Fellowship awarded this year)

2015 Weir Fellows: Leo Martinez ’15, Nettie Rauch ’15, Jacquelyn Schirmacher ’18, Amanda King ’15, Rachel Shaffer ’17

2014 Weir Fellows: Lexia Swope ’15 and Julie Lewis ’16

2013 Weir Fellows: Dave McGrath & Nettie Rauch

2012 Weir Fellows: Danny Kenny & Ryan Dyar

011 Weir Fellows: Kaitlyn Fancher & Matt Hill

Visit the ARC blog