Illinois - LGBT pride flag

The Acorn Equality Fund scholarship is designed to help LGBT+ students by providing academic financial support.To be eligible for this scholarship, you must reside in an AEF service area (all counties in Illinois except Cook, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will) and be currently enrolled in an accredited post-secondary institution.

Congratulations to Rachel Wimberly '15 and Tim Reardanz '15! Both of these students have been named Acorn Equality Fund Scholars for their work and dedication to the LGBTQ+ community.

The Jean Paul Ohadi scholarship was created in memory of 19 year old Jean Paul who was harassed because of his sexual orientation. The Jean Paul Ohadi Foundation has designed this scholarship for students who demonstrate academic achievement and who have been involved in supporting the LGBTQ community.

The Kenneth W. Payne Student Prize is presented by the Association for Queer Anthropology. This scholarship is awarded to students who have written an essay from an anthropological perspective on either a LGBT topic or on sexualities and genders.

This scholarship was established to support deaf, LGBTQ+ students to celebrate their strength, achievements, and to support growth in the LGBTQ+ community. To be eligible for the Deaf Queer Youth Scholarship, you must be deaf or hard of hearing and be "out" as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, or queer. You must also be currently enrolled in high school or college, a U.S. citizen, under 25 years of age, and have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5.

The Gammu Mu Foundation is offering scholarships to gay men who are enrolled full time in an accredited secondary institution. To be eligible for this scholarship, you must be a gay man under the age of 35, have completed high school (or GED), and be a U.S. citizen.

The NGPA-EF established the David M. Charlebois scholarship in memory of  David Charlebois, who was the First Officer on American Airlines Flight 77 that hit the Pentagon on September 11, 2001. The David M. Charlebois scholarship is awarded to aspiring aviation students who have shown significant involvement in their community, especially the LGBTQ+ community.

The NLGJA offers two different scholarships--the Leroy F. Aarons scholarship and the Kay Longcope scholarship--to students who are committed to providing fair coverage of the LGBTQ+ community. To be eligible for the Kay Longcope scholarship, you must be an LGBT person of color and plan to pursue a career in journalism. To be eligible for the Leroy F. Aarons scholarship, you must also be planning on pursuing a career in journalism. Applicants must be able to demonstrate their awareness of the issues which the LGBT community faces. 

The Point scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate significant financial need and who are able to demonstrate their involvement in the LGBTQ+ community.