The Alliance

Sharla Brown-Ajayi, Eric Jensen, Wendy Kooken
Sharla Brown-Ajayi and Wendy Kooken, with 19th President Eric Jensen, earned the Inaugural Inclusive Excellence Awards in 2018
Members of The Alliance celebrating Sharla Brown-Ajayi and Wendy Kooken
Members of The Alliance celebrated the Inaugural Inclusive Excellence Awards winners Sharla Brown-Ajayi and Wendy Kooken in 2018
Members of The Alliance pictured with students and featured poet
Members of The Alliance pictured with students and featured poet
Sharla Brown-Ajayi Monica Hall ‘90 Amanda Hopkins Vickie Folse ‘86 Jessie Dixon-Montgomery
From left to right: Sharla Brown-Ajayi, Monica Hall ' 90, Amanda Hopkins, Vickie Folse '86, Jessie Dixon-Montgomery
Brandon Common, Eric Jensen, Amanda Hopkins
Brandon Common and Amanda Hopkins pictured with 19th President Eric Jensen after being awarded the Inclusive Excellence Award in 2019

The mission of The Alliance is to support all faculty, staff and students of color at IWU through mentorship, networking, and fostering a sense of community. We strive to hold Illinois Wesleyan and each other accountable to our mission that values diversity, equity, and inclusion through programming and open dialogue at all levels. We will support our students of color as they pursue their academic and career goals by creating networking and funding opportunities that traditionally have not been accessible to all.

For more information on meeting times or to join our mailing list, please contact co-chairs Sharla Brown-Ajayi and Brandon Common or Hannah Mesouani.

IWU Alliance Student Emergency Assistance

Students in need of emergency financial assistance can fill out the  IWU Alliance Student Emergency Assistance Form  to request help. 
To contribute,  please direct your donations to the Academic Affairs Restricted Fund through the  Advancement Office .

Meet the Members of the Alliance

  PowerPoint presentation of the members

As always, we are here to reaffirm to all that Black Lives Matter.

Black Lives Matter

Chair Sharla Brown-Ajayi

Administrative Specialist V

Provost and Dean of the Faculty


Anfernee Roberts

Admissions Counselor


Krasondra Brooks


Physical Plant


Walter Carter


Physical Plant


Rosetta Clay

Assistant Vice President for Engagement



Nickos Gray


Physical Plant

Zahia Drici

Professor and Chair

Mathematics Department


Monica Hall

Assistant Professor

School of Nursing

Katie Gonzales

Sports Information Director

Physical Education & Varsity Athletics

Claressa Kirkwood

HVAC Apprentice

Physical Plant


Jessie Dixon-Montgomery

Associate Professor

Hispanic Studies

Katrina Harper


Physical Plant

Hannah Mesouani


Office of Diversity and Inclusion


Brian Richardson

Interim Director for Career Engagement

Career Center

Christopher Schumacher

Head Men's and Women's Track Coach and Professor of Physical Education

Physical Education and Varsity Athletics


Veronica Torres Luna

Outreach Coordinator

Office of Diversity and Inclusion


Franklin Larey

Professor and Director of the School of Music

School of Music