Supporting IWU

Hoss Scholarship

giving circle logo Scholarship Recipients

2019-20: Daisy Guerrero ’20
Jonathan Broadbear '19
Kristian Avise-Rouse '20
Tanner Kuenneth '18, Clare O'Donnell '18, Eric Rydell '17
2015-16:  Netherland Joiner '16, Danny Krob '16, Erin McCarey '16
Jessica Flach '15, Yolanda Juarez '17 and David McGrath '15
 Cassie Anderson '14, Ben Becker '14 and Alexis Sampson '14
2012-13: Bobby Castillo '14
2011-12: Emily Shire '13
2010-11: Joe Daniels '13


About the Hoss:
The Hoss Scholarship was established in 2010 by a group of Illinois Wesleyan cross country and track & field alumni, friends, and family who wished to honor their time at IWU by supporting a current IWU student.

At every IWU cross country meet, the team recognizes one male and one female runner with "The Hoss" award. Sometimes The Hoss is selected for his/her team spirit, determination, or personal best performance, other times for inspiring others. Despite the loose description, it is typically very clear who has earned The Hoss in each week's race.

To honor the spirit of this award, we support a student who exhibits Hoss-like qualities in his or her contributions to the campus community.

Goal: Fund as many $2,500 scholarships as we can each year.

The progress thermometer below represents totals as of July 31, 2020.


Current Supporters

Kerry Bailey '10
Melinda Brandt '06
Justin Brandt
Bobby Castillo '14
Lane Coonrod '08
Leslie Coonrod
Chip Corwin
Joe Daniels '13
Liz Hernandez
Trisha Holder '03
Josh Holder
Carrie McQuillan '08
Mike McQuillan '08
Van Miller '04
John Miller
Anne Miller
Michael Melick '02
Mary Kate Pack '07
Matthew Roberts '01
Amy Schumacher
Chris Schumacher
Jackie Smith '07
Laura Suga '02
Marc Suga
Casey Twanow '01
Laine Twanow '04
Sharon Waltz
Walter Waltz
Drew Wellinghoff



FY20 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters
FY19 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters

FY18 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters

FY17 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters

FY16 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters

FY15 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters
FY14 Hoss Giving Circle Supporters