• The formation of an IWU chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was desired by school of nursing faculty  to recognize and foster the outstanding achievement of nurses at Illinois Wesleyan University and in the community.

• Investigation into forming a chapter began on September 21, 1981, and soon Sigma Theta Tau recommended an honor society with steering committee be formed. 

• The first members of the Nursing Honor Society were inducted on May 1, 1983.  One hundred seven members were inducted.

• A second induction ceremony was held on April 29, 1984 for 26 new members.

• A charter application was requested from National Sigma Theta Tau Headquarters in May of 1984. 

• Theta Pi became a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau in April of 1986, and  Annette Lueckenotte was named president.  ( A list of the charter members is available in Shanks Lounge in Stevenson Hall, the School Of Nursing building on IWU’s campus.)

• In 1987, the Scholarship and Research Committees were formed

• In 1996, the Annette Lueckenotte research award originated, as did the Charla Renner Student Leadership Intern Program/Award