Keio University in Tokyo, Japan

Keio University is a comprehensive academic enterprise with six major campuses in Japan, along with a placeholdernumber of affiliated academic institutions on or near these campuses.

Keio has a proud history as Japan's very first private institution of higher learning, which dates back to the formation of a school for Dutch studies in 1858 in Edo (now Tokyo) by founder Yukichi Fukuzawa. Since the school's inception, Keio has continued to pursue Yukichi Fukuzawa's spirit of jitsugaku, which holds that one should not just acquire information from book learning, but should learn from real-life experiences in order to apply viable solutions to actual problems.

Keio's main campuses:

  • Mita Campus: the main site of Keio University.
  • Hiyoshi Campus: a general-education facility for all undergraduate faculties
  • Yagami Campus: high-tech facility dedicated to the study of Science and Technology
  • Shinanomachi Campus: home to the Keio School of Medicine and Keio University Hospital
  • Shonan Fujisawa Campus (SFC): developmental site for innovative approaches to education
  • Shiba-Kyoritsu Campus: hub of the faculty of Pharmacy

Return to main IWU Keio Exchange page.